Xerox Ratings and Reviews
Browse Products at Xerox
Browse Color Printers or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products

Customer Reviews for Xerox Phaser 6130

Xerox Phaser 6130

Laser printer. Best for small, frequent print jobs. Workgroup: up to 7 users
Average Customer Rating:
4.328 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(64 Reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 64 reviews
5 stars
40
4 stars
14
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
4
58 out of 63(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Phaser 6130
Review 1 for Phaser 6130
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

amazing printer

PostedSeptember 26, 2013
Anonymous
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We are a family with two childen at school who do a lot of printing previously with our old inkjet printer we where spending a small fortune on ink after buying this printer we barley ever by ink it is two years old now and it still has the same ink and we must have printed well over 1000 pages this is the best printer i have ever brought
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Phaser 6130
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

FIX LIGHT BLACK PRINTING PROBLEM

PostedJuly 19, 2013
twf
From: CA
Print Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
For the light black printing problem try using the generic postscript driver that came with your computer. Many wasted prints and years later I discovered that using the generic driver restored my blacks to dark again!! XEROX, why didn't you tell us this???
No, I would not recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
twf_inSocal
Long Beach, CA
MORE
Posted May 22, 2014
This problem came up again and could not be fixed. I found a comment by a Xerox moderator here: http://forum.support.xerox.com/t5/Printing/Phaser-6125-prints-faint-black/td-p/3614/page/3 ... it says that the printer resets itself when it is turned off for awhile. So after trying a million things (even the secret service access panel) and printing out many test pages, I turned the printer off and left it for about 10 mins. Turned it back on, and then again printed a page that came out too light (the black). Then, suddenly the printer began doing something (calibrating?) and it spit out a configuration sheet that looked pretty good. I then printed my job and wallah!! Dark blacks are back! So before you stand on your head trying to fix this, try turning the printer off for a while and then back on. It just might work. Good luck!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Driver related calibration issue?
Posted August 31, 2013
I tried switching to a generic driver, and it didn't seem to help. I could be that I didn't get the right generic driver. However, I've found that there is some sort of calibration that the printer will do that temporarily fixes the problem. I've tried every calibration from the maintenance menu, with no luck. However, I just changed the driver that I'm using for the printer from the 6130N to the Xerox Phaser 6180N. After it completed printing a poor quality black page, the printer went though a "calibrating" cycle (about 30 seconds) and then the next page out was dark black. I now believe there is a required calibration that is not being triggered at appropriate intervals and that this is the cause of the "grey" poor quality black. Not sure how to trigger the calibration, but changing the driver appeared to do it. Incidentally, after returning to the original Phaser 6130N driver, the print quality remained good (dark black); so, it's not the driver... it's the calibration.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
Customer Avatar
bwzi
Connectictu
Posted July 24, 2013
Thank you TWF. You solved the light black printing problem with my machine - switched to the generic driver and black type again.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 3 for Phaser 6130
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

It doesnt print connected to a MacBook, is not Mac compatible

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Bibi Lopez
From: Mexico
Company Size:1-9
Product Use:Everyday Documents
Role:Office
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is unbelievable, this printer prints with a Vaio but doesnt print with a Mac, it's a lie it is Mac compatible. I have the two computers here infront of me, and it works perfectly on a Vaio, and when I connected it to the Mac, says the printer is offline... come on!!
No, I would not recommend this to others.
-15points
0of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Posted May 29, 2013
It works just fine. I have several Mac laptops (including MacBook) connected to it.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Phaser 6130
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

this one has no headache problem at all

PostedMay 10, 2012
Anonymous
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My office has a couple of this model and also remote home user have some.
Awesome product, not many problem.
Only one thing I want is better this printer have bigger paper tray
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Phaser 6130
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great laser printer

PostedNovember 14, 2011
TechGuy
From: Centerville, UT
Product Use:Everyday Documents
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is an excellent small office printer. It prints fast and has nice, crisp text. It is connected directly to my office network through my router which allows any computer on my network to print directly to it.
This is the best printer that I've owned and I've had it for a couple years.
I highly recommend it.
I would recommend this to others.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Phaser 6130
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

a top notch small office printer

PostedNovember 11, 2011
flneamtiu
From: ny
Company Size:1-9
Product Use:Everyday Documents
Role:Office
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
3 / 5
3 / 5
No glitches, stil running like a champ.
kind of slow on big file prinitng, but i still have to boost the memory.
Otherwise fully recommended.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Phaser 6130
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

You can't go wrong

PostedOctober 27, 2011
Mark G
From: EL Centro
Company Size:1-9
Product Use:Professional Documents
Role:Other
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Think outside the box and go with Xerox. The Phaser is an awesome primer... Prints fast and clean. I recommend this product to anyone.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Phaser 6130
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Xerox 6130

PostedOctober 27, 2011
rollacansada
From: Mexico
Company Size:1-9
Product Use:Graphics and Charts
Role:Creative Services
Print Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Speed 
1 / 5
1 / 5
A piece of Junk that Xerox won't allow any trade in for because they know how bad it is!! I have spent its price agin repairing it and it is still horrible!!!
No, I would not recommend this to others.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Phaser 6130
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Perfectly

PostedOctober 27, 2011
eedmad
Company Size:1000+
Product Use:Everyday Documents
Role:Other
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had the printer for over three years with no problems whatsoever. It is the main printer that is networked between three computers, ( 2 laptops one main that is used as the backup) The best thing that I have experienced is that prior to getting it I used to spend over $50 every 6 to 7 months on ink, now it's been over a year on the same cartridges. ( over a ream of paper ). I highly recommend this printer to anyone that is looking for a reliable printer.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Phaser 6130
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

We have really enjoyed having the Phaser 6130 in our office.

PostedOctober 27, 2011
scole
From: CA
Company Size:10-99
Product Use:Graphics and Charts
Role:Office
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The Phaser 6130 produces great graphics. The teachers love the quality of the pictures and how easy the printer is to use. The toner cartridges are very easy to change and the machine very rarely jams or gives the teachers any trouble.
I would recommend this printer to any office but it is especially good for schools.
Susan
Elementary School Secretary
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Phaser 6130
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Switching to Window 7 - 64 bits

PostedOctober 27, 2011
Ray
From: Pittsburgh
Company Size:1000+
Product Use:Professional Documents
Role:Office
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Speed 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I bought it but never installed it for almost 1 1/2 years as I have 3 other printers. When installing on Window XP, the drivers worked well, until I switched initially to Window 7 -32 bits and then to Window 7 - 64 bits. I have problems getting it to run.
I have two other HP printers and they work very well, and thus, I give up on the Phaser after several tries.
Will I buy another? I would be hesitant to do so.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Phaser 6130
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great printer for smal business

PostedOctober 25, 2011
Anonymous
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We have been more then satisfied with the quality and cost of tis printer. It's been used daily in our small business for a few years now. We will be buying Xerox again.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Phaser 6130
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Perfectly! Great product for the price.

PostedOctober 25, 2011
Jake
From: Tucson, AZ
Company Size:1000+
Product Use:Professional Documents
Role:Other
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had this printer for a couple years now and have yet to experience any kind of problem with it. The print quality is superb and can easily be used for a photo printer if desired. The menu us easy to use and follow, reference to the manual is seldom needed. My wife has a wired connection to it but I connect to it wirelessly when I need a color document. The wireless connection works flawlessly and was very easy to configure. The toner lasts so much longer than an inkjet printer it's surprising that the ink jets are still even in use. I can't recommend this printer highly enough.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Phaser 6130
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good home/small office color laser choice

PostedOctober 21, 2011
Anonymous
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We purchased this printer to replace a string of ink-jet printers that each seemed to have a "self-destruct" function built in. After about a year there would some issue or other with the print-head.
We were therefore looking for a laser printer, using dry toner cartridges as a replacement. Phaser 6130 fits the bill perfectly.
There are four separate cartridges, as this is a CMYK color printer. This allows for replacing only specific color toner if it happens to run out way before others.
We have it hooked up so that both a Mac and a PC is hooked up to it and installing "drivers" was easy. Same for a Windows laptop that occasionally gets hooked up to the printing battery we have set up.
Colors are nice and rich. It prints well on plain paper - which is mostly what we do. We have not really tried it on special photo paper, as we don't really have that need and would probably get a dedicated photo printer with additional color (not a laser-type).
All-in all, after two years, this printer is still going strong. Replacing toner cartridges is a snap. We also like the ability to make several adjustments to the printing routine (for different types of paper, etc.).
We have definitely been happy with this printer and would recommend it.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Phaser 6130
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Printer

PostedOctober 20, 2011
Anonymous
Company Size:1-9
Product Use:Professional Documents
Role:Sales
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this printer for business use.
I like print quality and speed
Perfect for personal use and business use
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Phaser 6130
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to set up, fast, good print quality

PostedOctober 20, 2011
Anonymous
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been very happy with this printer. It was pretty much effortless to set up, prints quickly, and produces good quality output. Print quality is great for both text and color graphics and photos. The footprint is reasonable for a color laser - it's not exactly compact but it's not huge, and it's light enough to be manageable by one person.
The only negative, and it's a small one, is that the printer intermittently draws a brief (half-second) surge of power every 60 seconds or so while it's awake, presumably to heat or charge the toner. It's enough to make the lights in the room go dim for a moment. (My house was built in 2006 with good modern wiring, so it's not old crumbling electrical infrastructure at fault.) I find it a little disconcerting, but fortunately it doesn't happen at all in standby/sleep mode, and fortunately you can configure the sleep timeout so that the printer doesn't stay awake long when idle (I have it set to 5 minutes, and I think you can go even shorter).
I use this printer at home, and it gets pretty light use - a few pages a day on average.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Phaser 6130
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poor Product

PostedOctober 20, 2011
Anonymous
Company Size:1000+
Product Use:Everyday Documents
Role:IT/Technical
Print Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This product functioned for about 4 weeks and then color image became blurry. The printer only had 2330 pages of production when the problem occurred. I can not recommend the product for business or personnel use.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Phaser 6130
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great inexpensive color laser printer

PostedOctober 18, 2011
travism
From: Santa Rosa, CA
Company Size:1-9
Product Use:Photos
Role:Other
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I really have enjoyed owning this laser printer over the years and it is a solid 4 star printer, if not 4 1/2. I believe I purchased it for around $350 which for a color laser printer wasn't too bad a few years back. It makes really nice color images and has never had a single maintenance issue. It isn't the fastest printer for sure, but for my needs it isn't a problem. Only recently after years of mild use have I even needed to replace the starter cartridges that came with the printer. They are expensive at around $80 each, but last for 2000 pages, plus don't ever dry up or get gummed up like ink jets. I plan on having this printer for years more. (I'm never looking at ink jets again.) The only reason for 4 stars on ease of use is because it can get problematic with some network connections.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Phaser 6130
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy to set up

PostedMarch 30, 2011
Anonymous
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Set up on my pc was easy - just drop the cd in and it did the rest. No problems in the 2 years owned.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Phaser 6130
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

PostedMarch 27, 2011
hl
From: Maryland
Company Size:1-9
Product Use:Professional Documents
Role:Office
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This printer works great and is an excellent machine for a home office.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>