Xerox Ratings and Reviews
Browse Products at Xerox
Browse Color Multifunction Printers or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Xerox Phaser 6180MFP

Xerox Phaser 6180MFP

Print, copy, scan, fax, email. Best for small, frequent print jobs. Workgroup: Up to 10 users
Average Customer Rating:
4.186 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(323 Reviews) 320
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 323 reviews
5 stars
132
4 stars
144
3 stars
29
2 stars
11
1 star
7
282 out of 314(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Phaser 6180MFP
Review 1 for Phaser 6180MFP
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Another quality Xerox product.

PostedOctober 25, 2011
Anonymous
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
With as much printing as goes on in a hospital/healthcare setting, every entity has to have a herd of reliable printers. Slowly but surely we've found that most of the printers that wind up being weeded out are non-Xerox printers and they're mainly being replaced by Xerox Printers. Three reasons for this, and the 6180 has only further set the opinion in stone.
#1 - Quality. They don't break.
#2 - Reliability. They print without issue. When there's something that needs done (maintenance-wise) you are warned well ahead of time with straight-forward messages instead of the cryptic cypher on some printer that take a secret decoder ring to figure out.
#3 - Printing. It prints a quality product and does it quickly.
There's really not much more to say
I would recommend this to others.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Phaser 6180MFP
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

No drivers for Windows 8 or Mac Maverick

PostedAugust 31, 2014
Yukonomics
From: Whitehorse, YT, Canada
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Only generic drivers are available on Windows 8 which do not allow you to use not only the extra stuff (faxing, scanning, address book), but some basic printer functions such as selecting the paper source. Forget about telling it to use the multifunction tray.
Until the changes in operating systems, it has been a good printer, with only occasional jams and the usual expensive cartridges.
No, I would not recommend this to others.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Phaser 6180MFP
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Customer service issues

PostedMay 19, 2014
Anonymous
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have had the 6180MFP for about 5 years. It works well for our needs.
however, once you are out of warranty it is nearly impossible to get anything other than toner for your machine. I got transferred a minimum of 4 times to find out I had to pay $25 to talk to someone about the part I needed.
their customer service is not user friendly
No, I would not recommend this to others.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Phaser 6180MFP
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Last about a year

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Anonymous
From: Mission, TX, USA
Product Use:Everyday Documents
Role:Office
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Speed 
3 / 5
3 / 5
it lasts about a year and dies on you. This is the second Xerox product that I have owned and the first one last about 18 month
No, I would not recommend this to others.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Phaser 6180MFP
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Phaser 6180 MFP

PostedSeptember 20, 2013
peachlas
From: West Palm Beach, FL
Company Size:1000+
Product Use:Everyday Documents
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
LOVE this machine! It is a workhorse! Have had it in our 2 man office since 1/2008 and it is still going strong. .95K copies... Replaced the drum & fuser myself and not hard at all. Looks new... Won't want to give it up!
I would recommend this to others.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Phaser 6180MFP
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good machine but...

PostedJune 11, 2012
Seven of Nine
From: Toronto, ON, Canada
Company Size:1-9
Product Use:Photos
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We got this one as a loaner while our other is being replaced. We like the functionality and print quality, though we haven't had any luck with setup for scanning. We print a lot of images, and the quality is good.
A word of warning to anyone considering a multifunction printer - when you are out of toner, NOTHING ELSE WORKS. You can't use the fax, the copier or the scanner. The whole thing just STOPS. That is a major problem. There should be no reason why you can't fax out or scan with no toner, since neither of these functions actually USE toner.
I would recommend this to others.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Long Beach, CA
Complete shutdown when towner out
Posted September 8, 2014
I was in shock today when my office was shut down and critical deadlines were going to be missed because Xerox has this machine completely shut down when it is out of toner. All we needed to do was fax and scan but nooooooo - some brilliant engineer made it so the machine is completely disabled. I was ready to toss it in the garbage because, of course, the toner isn't readily available without paying a fortune.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Phaser 6180MFP
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Review of Phaser 6180 MFP

PostedMay 10, 2012
brtrnd
From: Mississauga, Ontario
Company Size:1-9
Product Use:Everyday Documents
Role:Other
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Speed 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is would be a good product, except for the following issues:
1. It will not scan from within software programs, such as Adobe Acrobat. (That is, the "create pdf from scanner" command does not work.
2. When you scan directly from the machine, it takes over one minute to scan a single black and white text only page.
3.Faxing is needlessly time consuming. You have to push the OK button about 4 times for 4 different reasons to initiate sending a fax. Why not be able to just enter the number and press "Send"?
4. If you make a mistake entering a digit in a fax number, you have to start over from the beginning - a waste of time.
5. I have contacted customer service about this (the product supposedly comes with a one-year on-site warranty), but they are no help.
These are the reasons I cannot recommend the product.
No, I would not recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Phaser 6180MFP
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The prints look great

PostedMay 10, 2012
Anonymous
From: Vernon, BC, Canada
Company Size:10-99
Product Use:Everyday Documents
Role:Sales
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Speed 
3 / 5
3 / 5
While we had some connectivity issues, Xerox helped us out, so that was great. We print a lot each day and I have been continually impressed with the quality.
No, I would not recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Phaser 6180MFP
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This product serves our small office of 3 users in a most efficient manner.

PostedMay 10, 2012
Anonymous
From: Islay, AB T0B 2J0 Canada
Company Size:10-99
Product Use:Everyday Documents
Role:Office
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
3 / 5
3 / 5
We have a small office with 3 computers jointly using the same Phaser printer. With the use of the different trays, we very seldom run into issues with more than 1 person wanting to use printer for large print jobs at the same time.
I would recommend this to others.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Phaser 6180MFP
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dependable, Flexible, and Fast

PostedMay 10, 2012
Raffi
From: St. Catharines, Ontario
Company Size:10-99
Product Use:Everyday Documents
Role:Office
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this unit because it was a multi-function product. In our office we use all aspects of the 6180MFP, as a fax, copier, and scanner in our everyday work. It starts quickly and prints in colour or black n' white which is great. The ability to print on different materials such as envelopes and card stock is an added bonus. Great Product!
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Phaser 6180MFP
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good printer

PostedMay 10, 2012
Anonymous
Company Size:100-1000
Product Use:Everyday Documents
Role:IT/Technical
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This printer is pretty efficient. It has the same print quality as our 7435 multifunctions. The only negative comment I had from the user who has the printer in her office is that it is noisy. This printer might have been better off in a common area instead of someone's office.
I would recommend this to others.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Phaser 6180MFP
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Uses colour toner for black print / MPT issue / Fax issue

PostedMay 10, 2012
Anonymous
Company Size:1-9
Product Use:Everyday Documents
Role:Office
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Speed 
3 / 5
3 / 5
By drawing on colour toner when printing black, the cost per page is doubled.
When pages are in MPT, it is not automatic the paper is drawn from this tray. We had to set up different configurations for each paper tray.
Fax machine needed support service call to change settings as Xerox claimed fax line was poor quality - fax machine worked fine on the cheaper brother machine
No, I would not recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Phaser 6180MFP
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

OK printer, but they still haven't solved the 2003 problems

PostedMarch 13, 2012
uniquelyunique
Company Size:10-99
Product Use:Professional Documents
Role:Other
Print Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Speed 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Prints with speed. Decent color quality. Not good for photos. Eats up envelopes, which has been a problem since 2003 and was never remedied and Xerox won't service it, so you can't use for mailings. Also, scanning is extremely slow and unstable and can only be done when network connection is USB. Xerox should fix these problems.
No, I would not recommend this to others.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Phaser 6180MFP
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Hit or miss.

PostedFebruary 7, 2012
Anonymous
Company Size:10-99
Product Use:Everyday Documents
Role:IT/Technical
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought six of these in December of 2007 for deployment as a public printer at small branches (<15 total computers) of a regional public library. Three have performed flawlessly and reliably. The other three have complained of fatal failures requiring a power cycle to clear and had the display on the control panel fail completely or exhibit severe streaking and have printed less than 20,000 pages. Toner cost per page is a tad high for my liking and replacement fuser and transfer unit components cost more than a new unit. This is my first purchase of Xerox products and so far I am unimpressed with their robustness and longevity.
No, I would not recommend this to others.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Phaser 6180MFP
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does not work for Mac

PostedJanuary 26, 2012
Brad
From: Boston, MA
Company Size:10-99
Product Use:Everyday Documents
Role:Other
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Speed 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Snow Leopard removed the SMB protocol which is a vital piece of scanning to a Mac. I have 2 phasers that will not scan anymore. It is a shame, this was the only multifunction that worked perfectly with a Mac, not it does not.
No, I would not recommend this to others.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
mickeymammoth
Boulder, CO
You can use FTP...
Posted March 27, 2012
The best workaround to the removal of SMB is to run an FTP server on your MAC, and then scan to FTP from the printer. I just tried this using an FTP app called Rumpus, although there is a built-in FTP app that you can launch from the Terminal. Not as convenient as using a USB-connected scanner, but it'll do. Note that other companies like Brother have Internet-ready scan apps that work fine over wireless, so Xerox is a bit behind the times here...
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Phaser 6180MFP
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

DO NOT BUY IF YOU ARE MAC USER - email ethernet scanning NOT WORKING !!!!

PostedJanuary 6, 2012
Tad
From: Toronto
Company Size:10-99
Product Use:Everyday Documents
Role:Office
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Speed 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ethernet scanning stop working - there is no cure for it . Now We have piece of useless equipment
No, I would not recommend this to others.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Phaser 6180MFP
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not only a great printer...

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Machineshop
From: St. Louis, MO
Company Size:10-99
Product Use:Everyday Documents
Role:Marketing
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We bought this machine primary because of it's comparatively low cost per print. However, we've been really impressed with how easily this product networks and the ability to scan items and send them to different folders on the server. We've had the machine for over a year and have had no problems. We've become Xerox converts.
I would recommend this to others.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Phaser 6180MFP
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Buy, great machine

PostedOctober 31, 2011
Tombstone
From: Fargo ND
Company Size:10-99
Product Use:Professional Documents
Role:Sales
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Going from our old B/W laser to this machine is like traveling through time. It is incredible, the quality, color, speed are great. Wish I had purchased sooner.
I would recommend this to others.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Phaser 6180MFP
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a great machine.

PostedOctober 28, 2011
Anonymous
From: Traverse City, Michigan
Company Size:1-9
Product Use:Professional Documents
Role:Creative Services
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
I have used Xerox equipment for years and love the stability, the ease of use, and quality of the prints. My machine has fulfilled every need I have placed in its path. I really love the Phaser 6180MFP!!
I would recommend this to others.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Phaser 6180MFP
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Phaser 6180MFP

PostedOctober 27, 2011
Anonymous
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have this printer for 3 years now and it is super reliable and fast. It is good for home or small bsuiness and it is network ready. In addtion, it can do duplex printing (printing on top and bottom faces of a single page) to save paper.
The only complains are very expensive toners and the fax modem cannot be used by a connected computer using USB or network cable.
I would recommend this to others.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>