Xerox Ratings and Reviews
Browse Products at Xerox
Browse Color Printers or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products

Customer Reviews for Xerox Phaser 6500

Xerox Phaser 6500

First-page-out time as fast as 13 seconds color, 12 seconds black-and-white. Best for fast-paced workteams who need outstanding print quality, simplicity and dependability. True Adobe® PostScript® 3™
Average Customer Rating:
3.614 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 44 reviews
5 stars
18
4 stars
9
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 star
6
27 out of 42(64%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Phaser 6500
Review 1 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great printer for home office use

PostedNovember 6, 2014
basest
From: Anderson, SC, USA
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I use this printer in my home office. I'm a graphic designer. The color matching is very good, and has been acceptable for most proofing situations. No trouble at all to set up, and very affordable. I'm very happy with this printer.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great printer for most all jobs

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Jimb
From: Gladstone, MO
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've used laser printer since the early 80's (Xerox) and have always wanted a home laser color printer which did not break the bank. The Phaser 6500 fills that niche perfectly. Low initial cost and cost per print on par with most ink jet printers, and you don't have to worry about the cartilages drying out when not used for a couple weeks. Print quality is superb and paper handling is great. We'd had no problems with any paper stock, from 20lb bond to 65lb card stock.
I would recommend this to others.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great color printer

PostedNovember 7, 2014
Ed
From: Seattle, WA
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I was sick and tired of ink jets, ink expiring, and the cost of ink. The phaser 6500 has been an awesome color laser offering duplex printing is fast and cost effective.
Best printer purchase I've made.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Printer

PostedNovember 7, 2014
Anonymous
From: Pasadena, CA, USA
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Used in a small 15 employee business.This printer works wonders. The print quality is amazing. Ink is easy to install. Combo this with the duplex, and this thing is a printing machine. Only downside it takes 4 different toner colors, and each individually is on the expensive side.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good value

PostedNovember 7, 2014
Anonymous
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Expensive toner and cannot handle high volume. However, the quality is very nice and the upfront cost is pretty low.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use, great quality

PostedNovember 6, 2014
Anonymous
From: Anaheim, CA, USA
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
quick to set up with my iMac. inks seem to last a while. only changed black one time so far, in over a year using this as our default printer for normal home use. requires a decent amount of space on our desk, but it's smooth and quiet. this model does not have duplex or wireless network.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed in the 6500

PostedNovember 6, 2014
Anonymous
Print Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Speed 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I previously owned a phaser 8500 which I loved. This printer however only works on regular weight paper. If you try to print on cardstock, it curls the cardstock into a huge C.
I called the service department which I've always been happy with. They sent out someone and though he tried everything he could think of to fix the curling cardstock, he couldn't fix the problem. When he called the service department he was told the answer to how to fix my problem was for me to buy high end cardstock.
Seriously? This printer is advertised to be able to print paper up to 80lb with NO stipulation that special cardstock is required.
I am very disappointed that Xerox would continue to sell a printer with this problem. Unless you just want to print on regular paper, I would stay away.
No, I would not recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

xerox 6500

PostedNovember 6, 2014
Anonymous
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am very happy with the Phaser 6500 performance. I did not opt for the duplex accessory, but manual duplex is manageable.
Very quiet, clean output. I've had the printer for about 6 months, not had to reorder toner as yet.
Only feature I do miss is copy/scanning capability that my last printer offered
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great features

PostedNovember 6, 2014
Anonymous
From: south carolina
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am printing all day long and my Xerox 6500 has never failed me. It is fast, prints beautifully.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Acceptable output, dies easily and too quickly, high toner cost

PostedOctober 1, 2014
CCSWebweaver
From: Springfield MO
Print Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Speed 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Print quality is acceptable for everyday business use. Speed is OK.
Printer looks nice, is in the midrange for noise.
I have seven of the Phaser 6500 product line deployed at my location. I have two units unusable sitting on the shelf, both retired before 1 year.
I have two units on a bench now, both with the same problem:
Phaser 6500N: Deployed Nov 3, 2013. Retired September 30, 2014. Page count 7600. Magenta quit working and required replacement. Upon replacing magenta, the unit decided to dump yellow all over the inside of the printer. Also, the printer reports repeated paper jams when there are none.
Phaser WorkCentre 6505DN: Deployed 9/18/2013. Retired June 4, 2014. Page count: 11465. Same internals, same "replace magenta" dump yellow problem.
My recommendation: Steer clear of this family of printers.
No, I would not recommend this to others.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Bulldog
St. George, Utah
Warranty
Posted October 24, 2014
I am not sure why you wouldn't take advantage of Xerox' 1 year warranty. It is likely they would have given you a replacement!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Nice printer, but failed after 18 month and less than 2,000 prints

PostedAugust 22, 2014
Anonymous
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Speed 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice printer and quality was pretty decent. Unfortunately, the magenta color system failed after 1,500 prints and I didn't realize it wasn't just a empty astride, but a catastrophic failure.
The end result, I have a large expensive paperweight that printed less than 2,000 copies and a compete set of toners that I ordered for a printer that no longer works.
No, I would not recommend this to others.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great printer

PostedAugust 12, 2013
TFW
From: Plattsburgh NY
Company Size:1-9
Product Use:Graphics and Charts
Role:Other
Great printer for the price. Works well , easy to use and operate. Duplexes excellently. But beware , toner costs literally hundreds more than a new printer. Its outrageously priced to the tune of $400+ , and you'll use up the cartridges it comes with pretty quickly. To bad just the same , Its a really nice printer.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Thrifty
Virginia
Staples
Posted January 15, 2014
if you're paying $400+ for toner you need to look elsewhere. I found cartridges for less than $150
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Curls Paper

PostedJune 18, 2013
Camaray
From: Oroville, WA 98844, USA
Company Size:1-9
Product Use:Professional Documents
Role:Other
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
Print looks good. Seems to be better than average at cost. BUT: It curls paper like nothing I've seen before. I've used laser printers since 1995, and have used (owned) 5 different color lasers, two others being xerox phasers that handled paper very well. All paper weights come out curled... but 20lb & 24lb can be flattened fairly easily. But just ran 40 copies of cardstock. Feeds through quite nicely, no hang ups. BUT the paper comes out literally (not exaggerating) in the shape of a "C". So much so, that the next page pushes the previous page off the tray like a bulldozer. I would can not recommend this printer because of this one issue.
No, I would not recommend this to others.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Xerox User NW
Brooklyn, NY
Curling Cardstock
Posted October 28, 2013
I have the same exact problem and have stacks of C's all around my printer. I tried selecting both heavyweight and lightweight for the same cardstock and it still comes out the same. Thankfully I am not printing to use them as full sized sheets, so when it cut them down to business cards or invitations they are not as horrible. I just started looking online to find a resolution for this problem when I came across your comment and I was laughing because I know exactly what you mean. This is the only thing keeping me from loving this machine.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I wish I knew about this product years ago

PostedMay 29, 2013
Lauriew31
From: Williamsburg, VA, USA
Company Size:1-9
Product Use:Professional Documents
Role:Print Services
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is honestly the best printer I have ever owned. I found myself in the position of unexpectedly having to replace my heavy-duty printer, an HP model, which was much slower and more finicky than it had any right to be. After researching this unit, I was impressed by all the positive feedback, as well as the promised features. I have not been disappointed.
I would recommend this to others.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

VERY FRUSTRATING TO USE

PostedMay 27, 2013
Jake49
From: Grants Pass, OR, USA
Company Size:1-9
Product Use:Everyday Documents
Role:Print Services
Print Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Speed 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have been using printers for over 25 years and this has to be the most difficult printer I have used. On color documents the black type often prints as dark brown.
When using card stock the "Jam, open front cover" comes on even though there is no jam.
Envelopes come out all curled.
I use my HP 2200D monocolor printer for all documents that are monocolor only and all envelopes and special sized paper.
Looking forward to the day the toners run out so I can buy a different printer.
No, I would not recommend this to others.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No Regrets at All

PostedMay 23, 2013
dhg
From: Washington, DC, USA
Product Use:Everyday Documents
Role:Other
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The printer has done all I've asked of it. with no trouble since its purchase.
I would recommend this to others.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poor printer drivers

PostedMay 21, 2013
Steve
From: Okla City, OK, USA
Product Use:Everyday Documents
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Have had a terrible time keeping the printer connected to my computer on home network. May work for weeks without problems then, when I try to print, I have to re-install the printer again. Does the same on my wife's computer. Never had a problem until this Xerox. Does print well when it prints.
No, I would not recommend this to others.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Overall a great printer

PostedMay 21, 2013
KHolli
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print is excellent and quick. Cartridges are easy to replace with no mess. Love the ease of printing envelopes right at the front of the printer. My only issue has been the disk that came with the printer has everything in Spanish, so all of my print menus are difficult to navigate as an English speaker and there doesn't seem to be a way to rectify this. Otherwise, I love this printer.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Xerox offers great technical support

PostedMay 21, 2013
Anonymous
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Honestly, our hopes are never high when we purchase a $200 color laser printer. In fact, three months into use, the machine started printed faintly on one side of the page. We made our attempts to fix it, and eventually called Xerox. They sent out a technician and it was fixed almost instantly. Within a year, the same thing happened, and for just a $89 renewal of the warranty instead of a new $200 purchase, a technician just came out and replaced all the innards. The Phaser 6500 is kind of a workhorse, eats through the tiny toner cartridges quicker than a woodchuck chomping on logs, and has incredible customer service. The prints are quality as well.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Value

PostedMay 21, 2013
snoteboom
From: Elk Grove, CA, USA
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I put off buying a color laser for some time, chiefly because of the cost of consumables (color toner). With the lower capacity Xerox Phaser cartridges that more nearly matched my printer use, their price, plus a very good price offer from the vendor, I found this printer much more affordable. I was already familiar with the Phaser color laser printer line from models that a previous employer had, and how they compared to the other well-known printer manufacturer. We found the Phaser to be superior in quality and price per print, and a higher quality and durability for the printer.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>