Xerox Ratings and Reviews
Browse Products at Xerox
Browse Color Printers or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products

Customer Reviews for Xerox Phaser 6500

Xerox Phaser 6500

First-page-out time as fast as 13 seconds color, 12 seconds black-and-white. Best for fast-paced workteams who need outstanding print quality, simplicity and dependability. True Adobe® PostScript® 3™
Average Customer Rating:
3.543 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 35 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
6
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
5
20 out of 33(61%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Phaser 6500
Review 1 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Nice printer, but failed after 18 month and less than 2,000 prints

PostedAugust 22, 2014
Anonymous
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Speed 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice printer and quality was pretty decent. Unfortunately, the magenta color system failed after 1,500 prints and I didn't realize it wasn't just a empty astride, but a catastrophic failure.
The end result, I have a large expensive paperweight that printed less than 2,000 copies and a compete set of toners that I ordered for a printer that no longer works.
No, I would not recommend this to others.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great printer for most all jobs

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Jimb
From: Gladstone, MO
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've used laser printer since the early 80's (Xerox) and have always wanted a home laser color printer which did not break the bank. The Phaser 6500 fills that niche perfectly. Low initial cost and cost per print on par with most ink jet printers, and you don't have to worry about the cartilages drying out when not used for a couple weeks. Print quality is superb and paper handling is great. We'd had no problems with any paper stock, from 20lb bond to 65lb card stock.
I would recommend this to others.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great printer

PostedAugust 12, 2013
TFW
From: Plattsburgh NY
Company Size:1-9
Product Use:Graphics and Charts
Role:Other
Great printer for the price. Works well , easy to use and operate. Duplexes excellently. But beware , toner costs literally hundreds more than a new printer. Its outrageously priced to the tune of $400+ , and you'll use up the cartridges it comes with pretty quickly. To bad just the same , Its a really nice printer.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Thrifty
Virginia
Staples
Posted January 15, 2014
if you're paying $400+ for toner you need to look elsewhere. I found cartridges for less than $150
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Curls Paper

PostedJune 18, 2013
Camaray
From: Oroville, WA 98844, USA
Company Size:1-9
Product Use:Professional Documents
Role:Other
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
Print looks good. Seems to be better than average at cost. BUT: It curls paper like nothing I've seen before. I've used laser printers since 1995, and have used (owned) 5 different color lasers, two others being xerox phasers that handled paper very well. All paper weights come out curled... but 20lb & 24lb can be flattened fairly easily. But just ran 40 copies of cardstock. Feeds through quite nicely, no hang ups. BUT the paper comes out literally (not exaggerating) in the shape of a "C". So much so, that the next page pushes the previous page off the tray like a bulldozer. I would can not recommend this printer because of this one issue.
No, I would not recommend this to others.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Xerox User NW
Brooklyn, NY
Curling Cardstock
Posted October 28, 2013
I have the same exact problem and have stacks of C's all around my printer. I tried selecting both heavyweight and lightweight for the same cardstock and it still comes out the same. Thankfully I am not printing to use them as full sized sheets, so when it cut them down to business cards or invitations they are not as horrible. I just started looking online to find a resolution for this problem when I came across your comment and I was laughing because I know exactly what you mean. This is the only thing keeping me from loving this machine.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I wish I knew about this product years ago

PostedMay 29, 2013
Lauriew31
From: Williamsburg, VA, USA
Company Size:1-9
Product Use:Professional Documents
Role:Print Services
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is honestly the best printer I have ever owned. I found myself in the position of unexpectedly having to replace my heavy-duty printer, an HP model, which was much slower and more finicky than it had any right to be. After researching this unit, I was impressed by all the positive feedback, as well as the promised features. I have not been disappointed.
I would recommend this to others.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

VERY FRUSTRATING TO USE

PostedMay 27, 2013
Jake49
From: Grants Pass, OR, USA
Company Size:1-9
Product Use:Everyday Documents
Role:Print Services
Print Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Speed 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have been using printers for over 25 years and this has to be the most difficult printer I have used. On color documents the black type often prints as dark brown.
When using card stock the "Jam, open front cover" comes on even though there is no jam.
Envelopes come out all curled.
I use my HP 2200D monocolor printer for all documents that are monocolor only and all envelopes and special sized paper.
Looking forward to the day the toners run out so I can buy a different printer.
No, I would not recommend this to others.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No Regrets at All

PostedMay 23, 2013
dhg
From: Washington, DC, USA
Product Use:Everyday Documents
Role:Other
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The printer has done all I've asked of it. with no trouble since its purchase.
I would recommend this to others.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poor printer drivers

PostedMay 21, 2013
Steve
From: Okla City, OK, USA
Product Use:Everyday Documents
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Have had a terrible time keeping the printer connected to my computer on home network. May work for weeks without problems then, when I try to print, I have to re-install the printer again. Does the same on my wife's computer. Never had a problem until this Xerox. Does print well when it prints.
No, I would not recommend this to others.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Overall a great printer

PostedMay 21, 2013
KHolli
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print is excellent and quick. Cartridges are easy to replace with no mess. Love the ease of printing envelopes right at the front of the printer. My only issue has been the disk that came with the printer has everything in Spanish, so all of my print menus are difficult to navigate as an English speaker and there doesn't seem to be a way to rectify this. Otherwise, I love this printer.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Xerox offers great technical support

PostedMay 21, 2013
Anonymous
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Honestly, our hopes are never high when we purchase a $200 color laser printer. In fact, three months into use, the machine started printed faintly on one side of the page. We made our attempts to fix it, and eventually called Xerox. They sent out a technician and it was fixed almost instantly. Within a year, the same thing happened, and for just a $89 renewal of the warranty instead of a new $200 purchase, a technician just came out and replaced all the innards. The Phaser 6500 is kind of a workhorse, eats through the tiny toner cartridges quicker than a woodchuck chomping on logs, and has incredible customer service. The prints are quality as well.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Value

PostedMay 21, 2013
snoteboom
From: Elk Grove, CA, USA
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I put off buying a color laser for some time, chiefly because of the cost of consumables (color toner). With the lower capacity Xerox Phaser cartridges that more nearly matched my printer use, their price, plus a very good price offer from the vendor, I found this printer much more affordable. I was already familiar with the Phaser color laser printer line from models that a previous employer had, and how they compared to the other well-known printer manufacturer. We found the Phaser to be superior in quality and price per print, and a higher quality and durability for the printer.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Overall the 6500 is a great printer

PostedMay 21, 2013
Anonymous
Company Size:10-99
Product Use:Everyday Documents
Role:Office
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We use this printer on a daily basis with an average capacity use for a small office. We have had two issues with it; however, when we called for service, someone showed up the next day and fixed it at no charge. Besides the downtime for the fixes, this printer (as far as ease of use, speed and quality) has been wonderful!
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great for home or office use

PostedMay 21, 2013
Dr. Cohn
From: Twinsburg, OH, USA
Company Size:10-99
Product Use:Graphics and Charts
Role:Office
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This color printer is great for home or office use. My kids use it for all their school projects and we have not had any problems with it.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pros and cons

PostedMay 21, 2013
Anonymous
From: Earlysville, VA 22936, USA
Company Size:1-9
Product Use:Professional Documents
Role:IT/Technical
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great quality and fast. But rather hard to use because too complicated and frequently needs service
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Issues

PostedMay 21, 2013
Anonymous
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had this printer repaired while it was still under warranty but it still isn't working properly. Both of the gentlemen who worked on the machine provided excellent service. I believe the problem is in the design. When it worked it was a wonderful tool. Now that the warranty has expired...not so much!!!
No, I would not recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Started spewing toner all over after 3rd black toner cartridge. Had to buy another just to use up all my toner I had purchased.

PostedMay 21, 2013
toner-all-over
From: Mississippi, USA
Company Size:100-1000
Product Use:Graphics and Charts
Role:IT/Technical
Print Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Speed 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Toner mechanism does not hold up ... only ran 3 black cartridges before it started spewing toner all over the paper. Had to buy another machine just to use of my toner supply. Will never buy a xerox product again.
No, I would not recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great bang for the buck

PostedMay 21, 2013
Anonymous
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I'm happy with printer. Only thing I would say negative is that is somewhat noisy in a small office
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a great printer for the cost

PostedMay 14, 2013
Wade
From: Bristol, VA, USA
Company Size:1-9
Product Use:Everyday Documents
Role:IT/Technical
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased this printer on a whim because of the cost. But when I set up this unit and tested it, I quickly found this to be much more that I expected. Most color laser printers with this print quality and standard features sell at a much higher price. This printer is a lot a bank for the buck. I'm very pleased with it.
You will not find another color laser printer of this quality for this price.
I would recommend this to others.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good printer for the cost.

PostedMay 14, 2013
Anonymous
From: Pikesville, MD
Company Size:1-9
Product Use:Graphics and Charts
Role:Creative Services
Print Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I just wish it would print cover stock straight!
I would recommend this to others.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This printer has features that are really helpful if you take the time to learn

PostedMay 14, 2013
Anonymous
From: Mill Creek, WA, USA
Company Size:1-9
Product Use:Everyday Documents
Role:Office
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have a 6505 xerox printer and just love its capabilities. It makes my job easier - I not only use it in the office but am able to access it from home and when I arrive at work my documents are printed and ready to go. I am able to make cards, agendas, newsletters etc. The printer makes my job look easy!
I would recommend this to others.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>