Xerox Ratings and Reviews
Browse Products at Xerox
Browse Color Printers or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products

Customer Reviews for Xerox Phaser 6500

Xerox Phaser 6500

First-page-out time as fast as 13 seconds color, 12 seconds black-and-white. Best for fast-paced workteams who need outstanding print quality, simplicity and dependability. True Adobe® PostScript® 3™
Average Customer Rating:
3.628 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(51 Reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 51 reviews
5 stars
21
4 stars
10
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 star
7
33 out of 49(67%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Phaser 6500
Review 1 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great printer for home office use

PostedNovember 6, 2014
basest
From: Anderson, SC, USA
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I use this printer in my home office. I'm a graphic designer. The color matching is very good, and has been acceptable for most proofing situations. No trouble at all to set up, and very affordable. I'm very happy with this printer.
I would recommend this to others.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ticked Off at Xerox
Minneapolis
No Apple Yosemite Drivers
Posted January 22, 2015
XEROX is NOT supporting this product, there is no Apple Yosemite Driver (which is Apple's most updated software for their products and been out almost a year). Sad when a company like Xerox does not support its products.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great printer for most all jobs

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Jimb
From: Gladstone, MO
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've used laser printer since the early 80's (Xerox) and have always wanted a home laser color printer which did not break the bank. The Phaser 6500 fills that niche perfectly. Low initial cost and cost per print on par with most ink jet printers, and you don't have to worry about the cartilages drying out when not used for a couple weeks. Print quality is superb and paper handling is great. We'd had no problems with any paper stock, from 20lb bond to 65lb card stock.
I would recommend this to others.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The print quality is awesome!

PostedMarch 20, 2015
Lil15
From: Raleigh, NC, USA
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We have had this printer for over 3 years and it does an outstanding print job. The color quality is crisp and clean. Our client presentations come out looking very professional. We have had no issues with this printer and are very pleased with its performance.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good general use printer with high quality capability

PostedMarch 20, 2015
Anonymous
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Most of the time you don't need to print high quality, but when you do, this printer does a good job. It's not for extremely large print jobs, especially given the cost of ink, but it will handle general printing needs and allow you to print really high quality pages when needed.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

This is a great, inexpensive laser printer

PostedMarch 20, 2015
Anonymous
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Speed 
3 / 5
3 / 5
prints are good quality, it does curl up cardstock paper, and takes a little while to send the information to the printer, but prints very quickly once it gets there.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Xerox Phaser suits my needs perfectly

PostedMarch 13, 2015
LindaFer
From: Englewood, CO
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Only the test of time will truly answer how well the Phaser 6500 performs but after two months of use I am very pleased with the print quality, paper handling capabilities and ease of use. This appears to be a great printer and answers the needs of my small office.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Printer

PostedMarch 13, 2015
Anonymous
From: Rochester, NY, USA
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After years with a different brands printers, I finally took my sons advice and bought a Phaser 6500. Connected it to our network with an Apple Airport Express and it works perfectly. Fast, high quality copies ....every time. Took my old printer to the recycling shop; good riddance.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DO NOT BUY FOR MAC

PostedFebruary 12, 2015
Anonymous
Print Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Speed 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This printer is incredibly slow from both of my Macs that I print from. I've spent many many hours on the phone with customer support and it does not print any faster. It takes 4.5 minutes to print a single page. If I decrease the photo quality drastically, it will still take over a minute to print just one page. They tell me this is normal and acceptable.
Xerox customer service is still being completely unhelpful. Do not buy this printer.
No, I would not recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

New 6500 printer purchase

PostedJanuary 11, 2015
Anonymous
From: Delaware, USA
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Home printer with amazing print quality for the money. Very good and acurate ink yeilds. Replacement ink is costly but compared to other printers ( I had them all ) not outrageous. No paper handing problems. One caution when printing on anything heavier the 20 lb paper, make sure to change the paper type and feed from by-pass tray or it won't fuse properly.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great color printer

PostedNovember 7, 2014
Ed
From: Seattle, WA
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I was sick and tired of ink jets, ink expiring, and the cost of ink. The phaser 6500 has been an awesome color laser offering duplex printing is fast and cost effective.
Best printer purchase I've made.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Printer

PostedNovember 7, 2014
Anonymous
From: Pasadena, CA, USA
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Used in a small 15 employee business.This printer works wonders. The print quality is amazing. Ink is easy to install. Combo this with the duplex, and this thing is a printing machine. Only downside it takes 4 different toner colors, and each individually is on the expensive side.
I would recommend this to others.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good value

PostedNovember 7, 2014
Anonymous
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Expensive toner and cannot handle high volume. However, the quality is very nice and the upfront cost is pretty low.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use, great quality

PostedNovember 6, 2014
Anonymous
From: Anaheim, CA, USA
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
quick to set up with my iMac. inks seem to last a while. only changed black one time so far, in over a year using this as our default printer for normal home use. requires a decent amount of space on our desk, but it's smooth and quiet. this model does not have duplex or wireless network.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed in the 6500

PostedNovember 6, 2014
Anonymous
Print Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Speed 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I previously owned a phaser 8500 which I loved. This printer however only works on regular weight paper. If you try to print on cardstock, it curls the cardstock into a huge C.
I called the service department which I've always been happy with. They sent out someone and though he tried everything he could think of to fix the curling cardstock, he couldn't fix the problem. When he called the service department he was told the answer to how to fix my problem was for me to buy high end cardstock.
Seriously? This printer is advertised to be able to print paper up to 80lb with NO stipulation that special cardstock is required.
I am very disappointed that Xerox would continue to sell a printer with this problem. Unless you just want to print on regular paper, I would stay away.
No, I would not recommend this to others.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
lilpierce
yucaipa, ca
Can't do 24lb
Posted February 3, 2015
I have semi-gloss 24lb paper weight that this printer struggles to fuse toner to. All my images were coming out with missing blotches. The technician replaced so many parts without being able to fix the issue. finally replaced the printer with the same results and a nicely curled paper.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Yes curls to a C
Posted January 17, 2015
I had the same experience with this printer as I wanted to print duplex on 67lb paper. It curls it into a giant C, almost a U. Each edge is 3 inches up off the center. The duplexer won't work with that weight paper as it jams every single time.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 15 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

xerox 6500

PostedNovember 6, 2014
Anonymous
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am very happy with the Phaser 6500 performance. I did not opt for the duplex accessory, but manual duplex is manageable.
Very quiet, clean output. I've had the printer for about 6 months, not had to reorder toner as yet.
Only feature I do miss is copy/scanning capability that my last printer offered
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great features

PostedNovember 6, 2014
Anonymous
From: south carolina
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am printing all day long and my Xerox 6500 has never failed me. It is fast, prints beautifully.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
too slow
Posted March 5, 2015
hi, r you using on windows?..... I find it very slow when I print more than 1 color sheet,,,,, it will print 1 every minute,,,,,, why is that ...any suggestion
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Acceptable output, dies easily and too quickly, high toner cost

PostedOctober 1, 2014
CCSWebweaver
From: Springfield MO
Print Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Speed 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Print quality is acceptable for everyday business use. Speed is OK.
Printer looks nice, is in the midrange for noise.
I have seven of the Phaser 6500 product line deployed at my location. I have two units unusable sitting on the shelf, both retired before 1 year.
I have two units on a bench now, both with the same problem:
Phaser 6500N: Deployed Nov 3, 2013. Retired September 30, 2014. Page count 7600. Magenta quit working and required replacement. Upon replacing magenta, the unit decided to dump yellow all over the inside of the printer. Also, the printer reports repeated paper jams when there are none.
Phaser WorkCentre 6505DN: Deployed 9/18/2013. Retired June 4, 2014. Page count: 11465. Same internals, same "replace magenta" dump yellow problem.
My recommendation: Steer clear of this family of printers.
No, I would not recommend this to others.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Bulldog
St. George, Utah
Warranty
Posted October 24, 2014
I am not sure why you wouldn't take advantage of Xerox' 1 year warranty. It is likely they would have given you a replacement!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Nice printer, but failed after 18 month and less than 2,000 prints

PostedAugust 22, 2014
Anonymous
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Speed 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice printer and quality was pretty decent. Unfortunately, the magenta color system failed after 1,500 prints and I didn't realize it wasn't just a empty astride, but a catastrophic failure.
The end result, I have a large expensive paperweight that printed less than 2,000 copies and a compete set of toners that I ordered for a printer that no longer works.
No, I would not recommend this to others.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great printer

PostedAugust 12, 2013
TFW
From: Plattsburgh NY
Company Size:1-9
Product Use:Graphics and Charts
Role:Other
Great printer for the price. Works well , easy to use and operate. Duplexes excellently. But beware , toner costs literally hundreds more than a new printer. Its outrageously priced to the tune of $400+ , and you'll use up the cartridges it comes with pretty quickly. To bad just the same , Its a really nice printer.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Thrifty
Virginia
Staples
Posted January 15, 2014
if you're paying $400+ for toner you need to look elsewhere. I found cartridges for less than $150
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Curls Paper

PostedJune 18, 2013
Camaray
From: Oroville, WA 98844, USA
Company Size:1-9
Product Use:Professional Documents
Role:Other
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
Print looks good. Seems to be better than average at cost. BUT: It curls paper like nothing I've seen before. I've used laser printers since 1995, and have used (owned) 5 different color lasers, two others being xerox phasers that handled paper very well. All paper weights come out curled... but 20lb & 24lb can be flattened fairly easily. But just ran 40 copies of cardstock. Feeds through quite nicely, no hang ups. BUT the paper comes out literally (not exaggerating) in the shape of a "C". So much so, that the next page pushes the previous page off the tray like a bulldozer. I would can not recommend this printer because of this one issue.
No, I would not recommend this to others.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Xerox User NW
Brooklyn, NY
Curling Cardstock
Posted October 28, 2013
I have the same exact problem and have stacks of C's all around my printer. I tried selecting both heavyweight and lightweight for the same cardstock and it still comes out the same. Thankfully I am not printing to use them as full sized sheets, so when it cut them down to business cards or invitations they are not as horrible. I just started looking online to find a resolution for this problem when I came across your comment and I was laughing because I know exactly what you mean. This is the only thing keeping me from loving this machine.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1 2 3 next>>