Xerox Ratings and Reviews
Browse Products at Xerox
Browse Color Printers or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products

Customer Reviews for Xerox Phaser 6500

Xerox Phaser 6500

Color printer with support for Letter-Legal/A4. Best for workteams of 2 to 7 users. – Outstanding print quality. – Small footprint for easy integration, whether on your desk or in a shared location. Recommended Monthly Print Volume: Up to 2,500 pages per month
Average Customer Rating:
3.618 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(68 Reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 68 reviews
5 stars
28
4 stars
13
3 stars
10
2 stars
7
1 star
10
43 out of 65(66%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Phaser 6500
Review 1 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I Really like this Printer...

PostedDecember 21, 2015
From: Ohio
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
First I will mention this is my first Laser Printer so I really don't have anything to compare it to. Here is what I can tell you from my perspective. Over all experience is great! The print quality is just awesome. The colors are vibrant and bright. It was relatively easy to set up. If you have used anything like this before I think it will pretty easy.
It is really not a heavy machine.
You definitely will have to learn the menu, learn to navigate it and how to understand the terms. The navigation is pretty much a basic pyramid type menu you start with a few main options each with their out set of options and so on....
There is an option to print out a menu map, this is very helpful. Sometimes you just don't remember where you saw an option at. So, you will probably need that.
The printer is very sensitive to movement. I have had to adjust the color alignment a few times now.
The paper jam sensor is very sensitive. Every time it senses a paper jam, you will need to open and close the front to get the warning off the menu. I have yet to have an actual paper jam but I have had to open and close the front probably 20 times.
I print out very detailed images, the print time for some of these images is very long. If you are printing out a form or letter head it will print very fast but if you want to print a detailed image it's going to take few minutes at least, to get it out. Also gradients are not a laser printers best friend, apparently. I have had it take more then 5 minutes to process an image before it prints. Fortunately I am not in a time crunch so I don't mind the wait considering the image is superb when it comes out.
I have had a few issues with printing, the thicker card stock I use which is Xerox brand and is compatible with the printer, occasional doesn't print right. The toner doesn't fully adhere to the paper and flacks off. It is always the black toner. This only happens on occasion. when it does though who need to run a few sheets of paper through the machine because the toner that came off is still in the machine and if you try to print anything it will pick up the loose toner that came off the bad print and ruin the next few prints. It is only the card stock that does this.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

New 6500 printer purchase

PostedJanuary 11, 2015
From: Delaware, USA
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Home printer with amazing print quality for the money. Very good and acurate ink yeilds. Replacement ink is costly but compared to other printers ( I had them all ) not outrageous. No paper handing problems. One caution when printing on anything heavier the 20 lb paper, make sure to change the paper type and feed from by-pass tray or it won't fuse properly.
I would recommend this to others.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great printer for home office use

PostedNovember 6, 2014
From: Anderson, SC, USA
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I use this printer in my home office. I'm a graphic designer. The color matching is very good, and has been acceptable for most proofing situations. No trouble at all to set up, and very affordable. I'm very happy with this printer.
I would recommend this to others.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ticked Off at Xerox
Minneapolis
No Apple Yosemite Drivers
Posted January 22, 2015
XEROX is NOT supporting this product, there is no Apple Yosemite Driver (which is Apple's most updated software for their products and been out almost a year). Sad when a company like Xerox does not support its products.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

drinks toner, solenoid problems at 4 months old

PostedApril 6, 2016
From: Derry, NH
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Speed 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Bought in November 2015, by the end of March, 2016 it was a paper weight. Toner cartridges are $100 each color and the black toner cartridge/solenoid is broken causing consistent error 042-375 K Mod sol fatal error. It would print the start up no problem, but the next print would trip this error. Since start up page prints, looks like the printer wants to work, so I suspect the bug is in a software function that is running at the start of a regularly printed page... a function that is not run as part of the start up page routine. But I doubt I will ever know because I have not received any email response from Xerox after I reported my problem. The online help files suggest I go out and buy a new solenoid unit for this 4 month old printer. After spending another $100 on second black toner to switch out with the $100 first black toner cartridge to see if the toner was the problem, thanks but no thanks. Over engineered and fragile... makes me miss the old work horse laser printers.
No, I would not recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not very reliable

PostedJanuary 28, 2016
From: Carlisle, PA
Print Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Speed 
3 / 5
3 / 5
We bought 7 of these printers for use in our libraries. Two died in about 14 months with less then 15k pages on each. Three others experienced the faded print on the left side. Which has been a nightmare to resolve. Two resolved by forcing toner into the Imaging Unit by using the Maintenance mode, motor test, black. The third one had no such luck even with a new imaging unit, genuine toner and a good cleaning of the printer. So two of the seven have actually worked fairly well, five not so much. Not very reliable. Even though the printer is inexpensive it is expensive to operate. Toner cartridges are expensive compared to the low number of pages you get. Even the high capacity cartridges only gives you roughly 3k pages. The imaging unit is listed as a long life item (30k images) not normally needing replaced. But if you make it that far be prepared to pay in excess of $200.00. Almost 2/3 the cost of a new printer. Xerox makes good printers this unfortunately isn't one of them.
No, I would not recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than I expected

PostedJanuary 28, 2016
From: Wyoming
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I went looking for a photo capable color laser printer and I found it in this model. Its resolution in b&w text is not as good as a dedicated B&W laser printer but is still readable if the text is large enough on the page. Color photo reproductions, while not as good as an ink-jet printer, are still of sufficient quality to be hung as finished photographs.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not Speedy

PostedNovember 23, 2015
From: Caldwell, NJ
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When we first received this printer it worked quick, but after about six months it has slowed down so much. I find myself hitting the attach tab and print faster than one sheet will print out now. I wish it would print as fast as when we first got it. Guess it doesn't pay to buy it out right. Better to lease some things, and I definitely think this is one of those things. Think twice before purchasing if you really need and rely on the speed of a printer because this one is not the one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Printer

PostedNovember 17, 2015
From: Buellton, CA, USA
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the second 6500 we have purchased. Great unit that exceeded our expectations. 5 Star machine.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Very poor color print quality

PostedNovember 17, 2015
Print Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have tried replacing all the toners. Stilll very poor color quality.
No, I would not recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Phaser 6500

PostedNovember 17, 2015
From: Northbrook, IL
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good printer, easy to use, impressive with the print, speed wise
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Useless for Windows 10

PostedNovember 1, 2015
From: Adams County, WI, USA
I have had two previous Phaser printers that both have quit; since it would cost too much to have them repaired by someone over 60 miles away, I bought the Phaser 6500. After attempting to load it into my computer, with Windows 10, it keeps giving me this message: "Installation to OS cannot be performed." Now I am using an Encore all in one printer, but its ink cartridges don't compare with my Xeroxes.
No, I would not recommend this to others.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Laser Printer that is shipped with a full toner

PostedAugust 28, 2015
From: MN
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This printer warms up fast and the print quality is great.. Unlike most laser printers, it is actually shipped with full toner cartridges instead of demo toner.
I would recommend this to others.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

outstanding printing solution

PostedJuly 16, 2015
From: Dayton, OH, USA
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
we made this purchase as a print solution for a k-8 school and are very happy with the clear crisp quality printing and the printers located in each classroom the student/teacher doesn't leave the classroom to get the printed product. also we have cut our copy count with better management techniques, thus lowering our TOC. very satisfied
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Near-Photo Printer

PostedJune 25, 2015
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
With good paper, it prints near photo quality and is so much more reliable than fine print inkjets. Supplies are much more affordable, too!
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Printer. Real Workhorse

PostedJune 25, 2015
From: Jackson, MS
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This printer is a real workhorse. I use it in a highschool classroom. Have not had any problems and print hundreds of pages.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Phaser 65000 is a winner

PostedApril 20, 2015
From: Denver, CO, USA
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been extremely pleased with the Xerox Phaser print quality. I purchased this printer to replace a lexmark laser and have no regrets.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Printer but...

PostedApril 7, 2015
From: Carlisle, PA, USA
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We've been using our 6500's for just about a year now and we're pleased with it overall. Color, speed and realiability are all good. As with everything though there is a but... We use this printer in our libraries (5 of them) for the public to use and unfortunately it isn't cheap to operate. Toner cartridges are expensive compared to page output and I wouldn't consider 30k pages for the imaging unit a long life item which we're about to replace at just over $200.00. For a home office or a very small business setting this is the printer for you. If your a medium size or larger go with something that has a larger toner/output capacity and components with a longer life, say in excess of 50k pages.
I would recommend this to others.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solid product

PostedMarch 30, 2015
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I recommend this Xerox printer.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The print quality is awesome!

PostedMarch 20, 2015
From: Raleigh, NC, USA
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We have had this printer for over 3 years and it does an outstanding print job. The color quality is crisp and clean. Our client presentations come out looking very professional. We have had no issues with this printer and are very pleased with its performance.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good general use printer with high quality capability

PostedMarch 20, 2015
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Most of the time you don't need to print high quality, but when you do, this printer does a good job. It's not for extremely large print jobs, especially given the cost of ink, but it will handle general printing needs and allow you to print really high quality pages when needed.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>