Xerox Ratings and Reviews
Browse Products at Xerox
Browse Color Printers or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products

Customer Reviews for Xerox Phaser 6500

Xerox Phaser 6500

Color printer with support for Letter-Legal/A4. Best for workteams of 2 to 7 users. – Outstanding print quality. – Small footprint for easy integration, whether on your desk or in a shared location. Recommended Monthly Print Volume: Up to 2,500 pages per month
Average Customer Rating:
3.667 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(57 Reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 57 reviews
5 stars
24
4 stars
12
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 star
8
38 out of 55(69%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Phaser 6500
Review 1 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Printer but...

PostedApril 7, 2015
back2rota
From: Carlisle, PA, USA
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We've been using our 6500's for just about a year now and we're pleased with it overall. Color, speed and realiability are all good. As with everything though there is a but... We use this printer in our libraries (5 of them) for the public to use and unfortunately it isn't cheap to operate. Toner cartridges are expensive compared to page output and I wouldn't consider 30k pages for the imaging unit a long life item which we're about to replace at just over $200.00. For a home office or a very small business setting this is the printer for you. If your a medium size or larger go with something that has a larger toner/output capacity and components with a longer life, say in excess of 50k pages.
I would recommend this to others.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

New 6500 printer purchase

PostedJanuary 11, 2015
Anonymous
From: Delaware, USA
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Home printer with amazing print quality for the money. Very good and acurate ink yeilds. Replacement ink is costly but compared to other printers ( I had them all ) not outrageous. No paper handing problems. One caution when printing on anything heavier the 20 lb paper, make sure to change the paper type and feed from by-pass tray or it won't fuse properly.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great printer for home office use

PostedNovember 6, 2014
basest
From: Anderson, SC, USA
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I use this printer in my home office. I'm a graphic designer. The color matching is very good, and has been acceptable for most proofing situations. No trouble at all to set up, and very affordable. I'm very happy with this printer.
I would recommend this to others.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ticked Off at Xerox
Minneapolis
No Apple Yosemite Drivers
Posted January 22, 2015
XEROX is NOT supporting this product, there is no Apple Yosemite Driver (which is Apple's most updated software for their products and been out almost a year). Sad when a company like Xerox does not support its products.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

outstanding printing solution

PostedJuly 16, 2015
grumpy_spy
From: Dayton, OH, USA
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
we made this purchase as a print solution for a k-8 school and are very happy with the clear crisp quality printing and the printers located in each classroom the student/teacher doesn't leave the classroom to get the printed product. also we have cut our copy count with better management techniques, thus lowering our TOC. very satisfied
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Near-Photo Printer

PostedJune 25, 2015
Anonymous
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
With good paper, it prints near photo quality and is so much more reliable than fine print inkjets. Supplies are much more affordable, too!
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Printer. Real Workhorse

PostedJune 25, 2015
Susan
From: Jackson, MS
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This printer is a real workhorse. I use it in a highschool classroom. Have not had any problems and print hundreds of pages.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Phaser 65000 is a winner

PostedApril 20, 2015
LindaFer
From: Denver, CO, USA
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been extremely pleased with the Xerox Phaser print quality. I purchased this printer to replace a lexmark laser and have no regrets.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solid product

PostedMarch 30, 2015
Anonymous
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I recommend this Xerox printer.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The print quality is awesome!

PostedMarch 20, 2015
Lil15
From: Raleigh, NC, USA
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We have had this printer for over 3 years and it does an outstanding print job. The color quality is crisp and clean. Our client presentations come out looking very professional. We have had no issues with this printer and are very pleased with its performance.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good general use printer with high quality capability

PostedMarch 20, 2015
Anonymous
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Most of the time you don't need to print high quality, but when you do, this printer does a good job. It's not for extremely large print jobs, especially given the cost of ink, but it will handle general printing needs and allow you to print really high quality pages when needed.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

This is a great, inexpensive laser printer

PostedMarch 20, 2015
Anonymous
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Speed 
3 / 5
3 / 5
prints are good quality, it does curl up cardstock paper, and takes a little while to send the information to the printer, but prints very quickly once it gets there.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Printer

PostedMarch 13, 2015
Anonymous
From: Rochester, NY, USA
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After years with a different brands printers, I finally took my sons advice and bought a Phaser 6500. Connected it to our network with an Apple Airport Express and it works perfectly. Fast, high quality copies ....every time. Took my old printer to the recycling shop; good riddance.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DO NOT BUY FOR MAC

PostedFebruary 12, 2015
Anonymous
Print Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Speed 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This printer is incredibly slow from both of my Macs that I print from. I've spent many many hours on the phone with customer support and it does not print any faster. It takes 4.5 minutes to print a single page. If I decrease the photo quality drastically, it will still take over a minute to print just one page. They tell me this is normal and acceptable.
Xerox customer service is still being completely unhelpful. Do not buy this printer.
No, I would not recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great color printer

PostedNovember 7, 2014
Ed
From: Seattle, WA
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I was sick and tired of ink jets, ink expiring, and the cost of ink. The phaser 6500 has been an awesome color laser offering duplex printing is fast and cost effective.
Best printer purchase I've made.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Printer

PostedNovember 7, 2014
Anonymous
From: Pasadena, CA, USA
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Used in a small 15 employee business.This printer works wonders. The print quality is amazing. Ink is easy to install. Combo this with the duplex, and this thing is a printing machine. Only downside it takes 4 different toner colors, and each individually is on the expensive side.
I would recommend this to others.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good value

PostedNovember 7, 2014
Anonymous
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Expensive toner and cannot handle high volume. However, the quality is very nice and the upfront cost is pretty low.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use, great quality

PostedNovember 6, 2014
Anonymous
From: Anaheim, CA, USA
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
quick to set up with my iMac. inks seem to last a while. only changed black one time so far, in over a year using this as our default printer for normal home use. requires a decent amount of space on our desk, but it's smooth and quiet. this model does not have duplex or wireless network.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed in the 6500

PostedNovember 6, 2014
Anonymous
Print Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Speed 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I previously owned a phaser 8500 which I loved. This printer however only works on regular weight paper. If you try to print on cardstock, it curls the cardstock into a huge C.
I called the service department which I've always been happy with. They sent out someone and though he tried everything he could think of to fix the curling cardstock, he couldn't fix the problem. When he called the service department he was told the answer to how to fix my problem was for me to buy high end cardstock.
Seriously? This printer is advertised to be able to print paper up to 80lb with NO stipulation that special cardstock is required.
I am very disappointed that Xerox would continue to sell a printer with this problem. Unless you just want to print on regular paper, I would stay away.
No, I would not recommend this to others.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
lilpierce
yucaipa, ca
Can't do 24lb
Posted February 3, 2015
I have semi-gloss 24lb paper weight that this printer struggles to fuse toner to. All my images were coming out with missing blotches. The technician replaced so many parts without being able to fix the issue. finally replaced the printer with the same results and a nicely curled paper.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Yes curls to a C
Posted January 17, 2015
I had the same experience with this printer as I wanted to print duplex on 67lb paper. It curls it into a giant C, almost a U. Each edge is 3 inches up off the center. The duplexer won't work with that weight paper as it jams every single time.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 19 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

xerox 6500

PostedNovember 6, 2014
Anonymous
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am very happy with the Phaser 6500 performance. I did not opt for the duplex accessory, but manual duplex is manageable.
Very quiet, clean output. I've had the printer for about 6 months, not had to reorder toner as yet.
Only feature I do miss is copy/scanning capability that my last printer offered
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Phaser 6500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great features

PostedNovember 6, 2014
Anonymous
From: south carolina
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am printing all day long and my Xerox 6500 has never failed me. It is fast, prints beautifully.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
too slow
Posted March 5, 2015
hi, r you using on windows?..... I find it very slow when I print more than 1 color sheet,,,,, it will print 1 every minute,,,,,, why is that ...any suggestion
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1 2 3 next>>