Xerox Ratings and Reviews
Browse Products at Xerox
Browse Color Multifunction Printers or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products

Customer Reviews for Xerox WorkCentre 6505

Xerox WorkCentre 6505

Color MFP with support for Letter-Legal/A4. Copy, print, scan, fax, email. Best for workteams of 2 to 7 users. – Productivity for more people in a intuitive color device. – Save on energy and supplies by combining multiple devices. Recommended Monthly Print Volume: Up to 2,500 pages per month
Average Customer Rating:
3.867 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(75 Reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 75 reviews
5 stars
32
4 stars
18
3 stars
14
2 stars
5
1 star
6
53 out of 71(75%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for WorkCentre 6505
Review 1 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love love love Xerox products!

PostedFebruary 4, 2015
From: Williamsport, PA
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My experience with Xerox goes back probably 20 years to a flatbed with sheet feeder copier. I currently have a workcenter 6505n, purchased March of 2012. I always buy product insurance and I almost have never needed to use it but when I do service is fast and efficient. Customer support has always been outstanding, yes outstanding. No long on hold waiting, no overseas support representatives; just issue identification and results. I will always purchase Xerox for my home accounting office and will always recommend their products, with insurance; which is very cost effective. Thank you for an excellent product and service. Bravo, you earned it!
I would recommend this to others.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Enjoying my 6505

PostedOctober 23, 2014
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After using another multifunction printer I was ready for an upgrade. I reviewed the available products and called to talk to a Zerox sales rep for further information. I decided on the 6505 for its size, reliability ratings, quality of color printing and speed. I did have to call to get all the features working correctly after I upgraded my computer but it was easy and help was there when I needed it. Customer service is great, the product is great and I enjoy having a reliable tool at my convenience. Thanks Zerox.
I would recommend this to others.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for printing and copying

PostedJanuary 28, 2016
From: Smyrna, TN
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Speed 
3 / 5
3 / 5
My observation of the WorkCentre 6505 is incomplete. The printer works well but our organization has had issues with the printer working when we changed to Windows 10. At times the printer would not work and we had to delete the printer and add the printer back. The copy functions works well; we do not use the fax feature but we have plan to do so. The scanner feature has been our biggest issue. We have not been able to scan to an individual or group email. This is very important to our small organization.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ease of operation

PostedJanuary 28, 2016
From: Indian Springs Nevada
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product has proven to be simple to use, and very reliable. I have multiple users daily and highly recommend this machine.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

this product has poor features

PostedJanuary 14, 2016
From: laval,quebec,canada
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am not able to email document directly from the machin (as been told by Xerox before the purchase) because of I am using BELL ,but the problem was solved by scanning to a file in my computer than proceeding to email,so longer procedure.
I would recommend this to others.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice Machine if everything is working as it should.

PostedNovember 19, 2015
From: Richmond, VA, USA
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This machine is advertised for small businesses. It was purchased for home use...for a family of 5. 2 adults in a business professional setting with some continuing college education in progress and 3 children in school or college. Other well known brands have not stood the test of time. This was our first personal experience with Xerox. We figured if we go with something a little more tailored to a business setting, then the craftsmanship may be worth the money as applied to the products useful life. We were also interested in getting away from inkjet devices as the cost of cartridges is getting out of hand. This machine is nice...it is large, has that office/professional feel. The initial start-up led to the discovery of some defective components. This was frustrating-considering the cost. I will say that once I made my way through the phone tree, I was connected to a nice/professional lady that understood my problem. She overnighted the replacement parts-free of charge.
For us, we feel the print quality is great...our projects and school work look professional. We are still on the original toner...this unit has exceeded the capabilities of the prior inkjet unit.
The scanner works fine. It is a network capable printer but it does not have wifi capability. We overcame this with a wifi repeater that has 4 connections for non-wifi devices. The machine receives jobs from multiple desktop computers, laptops, and mac machines with no issues.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not Good So Far

PostedNovember 18, 2015
From: Annapolis, MD, USA
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Speed 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Our WorkCentre 6505 arrived with a broken sensor that prevented it from starting or working. It took Xerox customer service over 3 weeks to get it repaired.
Once we got it on we found out that the WorkCentre 6505 has very limited e-mail configuration options (it doesn't support SSL and won't work with many e-mail services).
No, I would not recommend this to others.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very Versitile Product

PostedNovember 18, 2015
From: Liberty, TX, USA
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This product is a easy to use and has many features.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Printer

PostedNovember 17, 2015
From: Miami, FL, USA
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This printer is easy to use and to install. The quality printing is excellent and the speed is pretty good. I recommend it for a small to medium office environment.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It's both great and terrible

PostedOctober 31, 2015
From: Edmonton, AB, Canada
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The print quality is great. Prints beautifully on any kind of paper including envelopes and it's fast.
However, I'm putting this puppy up for sale because it gives me more grief than it's worth. When you open the paper tray (to reload it or whatever) and then close it, you have to tell the printer what kind of paper you just put in. Sometimes this works, sometimes it doesn't. Sometimes it thinks there's a paper jam even though there isn't one. Sometimes it just won't print, and sometimes it won't stop printing.
Problems happen with all printers, I get that, but the most frustrating thing about this printer is trying to fix these problems. It's a combination of a poorly designed menu, poorly designed error messages, non-existent hints (like: "press button blah to continue" for example) and a bunch of poorly labelled buttons (cryptic icons instead of words).
Half the time, when you see a notification on the screen, the OK button does nothing, no matter how hard and how often you press it. Even yelling "OK I GET IT!!!" at the top of your lungs doesn't seem to solve the problem. There's also a red button which I think is Cancel, and a button that lights up which seems to be the "wake up" button, but again I'm not sure (and no, I don't know why a printer needs a wake up button). There's also a bright yellow button which is labelled CA and that might mean something to somebody somewhere but it means nothing to me. And a big green button which seems to be the copy button because anytime you press it it starts making a copy of the glass.
I wish I had a better example of a recent problem but I don't remember exactly what happened, just that I've had more frustration with this printer than any other printer I've ever owned.
No, I would not recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for a small office

PostedOctober 15, 2015
From: Michigan, USA
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good color. Scanning keeps having issues and had service a few times.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a great printer!

PostedAugust 13, 2015
From: Southern Maryland, MD, USA
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The 6505 is a great printer for the price. Fast start up, fast printing. The print quality has been superb. I am really happy I decided to replace my old C2424.
The product is not perfect, but my issues are small. I had to work with Xerox support to learn how to scan documents. It is not straight forward. The problem is caused by having scanning controlled at the printer. HP provides an app that controls scanning from the computer, which is easier to use. However, once scanning was set up, I have had no problem using it.
The control panel is not intuitive. I had to go to the user's guide to learn how to do basic things. Once learned, it has not been an issue..
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Printer

PostedJuly 31, 2015
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is my second one and I use it in my graphic design and printing business so it gets alot of use. The price is good and consumables are not too pricey. All in all, a good printer for the money.
I would recommend this to others.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

An essential product for small business or power users

PostedJuly 31, 2015
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This product offers print, copy, scan, and fax with Color Laser. Laser toners are pricey, but it lasts longer than typical inkjet toners as well as the printing quality is better. We purchased this product after pretty satisfied using Phaser 6500DN (which lacks of copying, scanning, and faxing capability) previously. Xerox products are very reliable, and the customer support is often very helpful if there are any issues to resolve.
Initially, we had some minor issues setting up the product with Mac OS X and gmail account for scanning feature, but after getting help from the technical assistant from the customer support, the product works great. If you are going to use gmail account as sending smtp account for scanning option, then this product may not right one for you.
However, we are very happy with their duplexing feature (two-sided printing), scan to email, scan to shared folder, copying b/w or color, and printing from multiple workstation that are connected via ethernet (the current version of the product doesn't come with wireless printing, and requires ethernet connection).
Anyways, this fits very well for our office where there are ~20 users.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

It works great!!!! When it wants to.....

PostedJuly 31, 2015
From: Las vegas,NV
Print Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Speed 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This unit works great when it does work. It works whenever it feels like it. It might be great for a person at home, but as a small business I think it fails to meet our expectations.
No, I would not recommend this to others.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very bad experience with this

PostedJune 19, 2015
From: Grand rapids MI
Print Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Speed 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have never had such a bad experience as with this secondary printer. I have wasted so much time and paper that I am ready to take a hammer to this printer any day now. Cannot fix the many problems with this product. It is totally frustrating.
No, I would not recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Exceeded my expectations

PostedMay 12, 2015
From: Northern California
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Our multifunction printer works as advertised. Great quality prints and fast copying / scanning.
I would recommend this to others.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Meets my needs perfectly

PostedMay 2, 2015
From: Tampa, FL
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For many years, I had used a different brand product. Being a home crafter who makes gifts intended to last, my concerns were quality of print image and the ability to use heavy cardstock when necessary. Ease of use was also a factor behind those. When my former printer (a different brand) stopped working, it was not possible to replace it with the same brand because it could no longer handle cardstock of any weight. This printer was recommended by my favorite retail seller. It certainly has not let me down. It isn't as intuitive for me as my former printer but I'm getting there. Tech support has been so much more than expected (or that which I've experienced in the past with another brand). I love this machine! My only wish was that it wasn't so costly to make it wireless. However, I can work around that if it means having a machine that meets my needs and my budget.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful compact work horse

PostedMay 1, 2015
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The WorkCentre 6506 is a wonderful all in one printer, copier, fax, scanner etc. It is super easy to use and super easy to set up.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super Fast Great Quality

PostedMay 1, 2015
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We have more than gotten our money's worth from this printer. Super fast and the quality is amazing even on standard paper. Would definitely recommend!
I would recommend this to others.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>