Xerox Ratings and Reviews
Browse Products at Xerox
Browse Color Multifunction Printers or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Xerox WorkCentre 6505

Xerox WorkCentre 6505

Print, copy, scan, fax. First-page-out time as fast as 12 seconds color, 12 seconds black-and-white. Best for fast-paced workteams who need powerful multifunction capabilities plus outstanding print quality, simplicity and dependability. True Adobe® PostScript® 3™
Average Customer Rating:
3.95 / 5
4
 / 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 40 reviews
5 stars
19
4 stars
8
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
2
28 out of 38(74%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for WorkCentre 6505
Review 1 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

DOES NOT WORK ON WINDOWS 8.1

PostedMarch 18, 2014
CD
From: New York
Print Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Speed 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Bought this printer directly from the Xerox store. When purchasing, I was concerned about its use on Tablets, Windows 8 and the fax function. I asked the sales person about these three specific things and was satisfied with the answers given, especially when I spent approx. 30-50 minutes on the phone. I was told that in the matter of windows 8, all I had to do was download the driver from Xerox's website and to ignore the disc that came with the machine, you see I was in some ways comparing the WorkCentre 6605 and 6505, but wasn't too thrilled about the feedback on the WorkCentre 6605, so I decided to go with 6505, as long as it could work in that environment.
After given all assurances, I bought the 6505. After 3 days I noticed that I couldn't find the driver for the printer anywhere, and the disc, of course, wasn't working on windows 8. Called support only to be told that they hadn't made any drivers for Windows 8.1 environment and I would have to call Microsoft to ask their technical support department to build me one, or ask them (Microsoft# to come with some solution, because they #Xerox) could not help, since they didn't know when one would be available, called the sales department to complain, only to be told by the sales rep that "he had no idea that windows 8.1 existed". I kid you not, I have 30 days to return the printer, but I'm allowing for 2 weeks to see if Xerox can come up with a fix. The one thing that hurts me the most is the fact that I did my due diligence in choosing this machine and all I hoped for was good customer service on the back end. Just wanted a printer that I wouldn't have to be bothered with for a minute. Yet here I am again.
No, I would not recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
joe-bob rufus magilicuddy
vladivostok, russia
no drivers needed
Posted April 11, 2014
It's a PostScript printer, turkey. Use the color postscript driver and just copy over the ppd file to get any printer-specific features.
That's one major reason to *buy* a postscript printer - they don't need one-off weirdo winprinter drivers. They work anywhere.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Black toner cartridges do not last nearly as long as they are supposed to

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Susan CPA
From: Pennsylvania
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am a CPA and print a relatively high number of pages daily. This printer is costing a fortune in black toner cartridges. I have printed 5,477 pages so far and it has already gone through the initial black cartridge that came with the machine, 2 High Capacity new ones @ $110 each, and is halfway through a fourth. My HP did not eat up toner cartridges like this.
Also, if you have to call customer service, beware the Serial # is hidden far inside the machine and involves having to try to remove other parts to get to it. Very bad design.
No, I would not recommend this to others.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just keeps on printing with no problems

PostedJuly 7, 2013
Anonymous
From: NY
Company Size:1-9
Product Use:Everyday Documents
Role:Office
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The quality of the prints are great. It never needs calibrating. Text prints out sharp. It doesn't jam. It's quiet. I scan to file and email. It does everything well! Xerox support is excellent. The toner is expensive but it's worth it.
I would recommend this to others.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

This product is speedy

PostedMay 17, 2013
Anonymous
From: Cornerstone Christian Academy
Company Size:10-99
Product Use:Everyday Documents
Role:Office
Print Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This copier prints at a great speed.
I would recommend this to others.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Scanning not so easy

PostedMay 11, 2013
Anonymous
Company Size:1-9
Product Use:Everyday Documents
Role:Office
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Scanning has been difficult for our network (on a mac). Otherwise the printer is great!
I would recommend this to others.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Long Lasting

PostedMay 10, 2013
Terry
From: San Antonio, TX, USA
Company Size:1-9
Product Use:Everyday Documents
Role:Office
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This product does run into minor issues but over all this product with warranty is great.
I would recommend this to others.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I have already recomment this product

PostedMay 10, 2013
nickey
From: Alcorn, MS 39096, USA
Company Size:1000+
Product Use:Everyday Documents
Role:Office
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love my printer the only thing is the price for the ink is so high
I would recommend this to others.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I love my Xerox WorkCenter

PostedMay 10, 2013
Wolfnana
From: Rockwall, tX
Company Size:1-9
Product Use:Everyday Documents
Role:Other
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I enjoy using my Xerox WorkCenter every day at work. My favorite feature is how easy it is to scan my documents...very good feature.
I would recommend this to others.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Machine

PostedMay 10, 2013
Anonymous
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent quality and easy to use.
I would recommend this to others.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Compact with good features

PostedMay 10, 2013
Anonymous
From: Reading, PA
Product Use:Everyday Documents
Role:Creative Services
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Previously had a standard copier, but having the print from computer, scanning and faxing features has been great.
I would recommend this to others.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

jams

PostedMay 10, 2013
Anonymous
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Speed 
3 / 5
3 / 5
We have had issues with jamming every couple of months for the life of the printer.
No, I would not recommend this to others.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A wonderful office tool

PostedMay 10, 2013
Anonymous
Company Size:100-1000
Product Use:Everyday Documents
Role:Office
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I do not regret choosing this particular WorkCentre for our office. If I were rating in "stars" I'd surely give a 4.5 overall. The one "negative" is that there isn't a clear instruction booklet to review & use. I've figured out how to do many of the tasks, not all, but for efficiency and productivity it would have been preferred to have a reference manual with clear directions for the varied ways in which I'll use this all-in-one machine.
For instance, I have STILL not learned how to "copy to email" although I am certain there IS a way to do it.
I am somewhat disappointed that "manual feed" is required for materials OTHER than plain paper - but have been equally pleased by what I CAN accomplish!
I would recommend this to others.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

fits all our needs perfectly

PostedMay 9, 2013
chiller563
From: Highland Lakes, NJ
Company Size:1-9
Product Use:Everyday Documents
Role:Office
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
As a small business, and with two kids in college, I wanted to find something better than the standard in store HP products. Boy did this printer fit the bill. Blows away anything I've owned to date. Customer service was excellent as well. When first installing we had some trouble with networking and customer service was quick and easy to get on the phone with someone that spoke english clearly and easily understood and diagnosed the problem. I will definitely always own a Xerox! Supplies could be cheaper, but I guess that's true with all manufacturers.
I would recommend this to others.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic for the price

PostedMay 9, 2013
Rick4450
From: Clearwater, FL
Company Size:1-9
Product Use:Everyday Documents
Role:IT/Technical
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Much better than expected. Actually much better than some of the more expensive Phaser models I have had.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent printer

PostedMay 9, 2013
Anonymous
From: Washington state
Company Size:1-9
Product Use:Everyday Documents
Role:Sales
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Speed 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I replaced 2 other printers with this machine. An older black and white laser and a color inkjet.
The print quality is great, the speed is good, and the other features are good. I wished it copied to email, but I can scan and attach the file without to much trouble.
Overall I am very pleased with this printer and would buy it again.
I would recommend this to others.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The finest unit I have ever had.

PostedMay 9, 2013
Pete
From: Torrington, WY 82240, USA
Company Size:100-1000
Product Use:Everyday Documents
Role:Office
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Was delivered the next day after the order was place. (fast) The setup took about 45 minutes and everything was up and running at 110%. Instructions were clear and easy to follow. The copy, print, fax and scan produces above average, and quick. Bottom line IT IS A XEREX. We are a customer the next time around
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great color Multi-function

PostedMay 9, 2013
Tailor Tom
From: Minneapolis, MN, USA
Company Size:1-9
Product Use:Everyday Documents
Role:Office
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I previously had a color ink-jet printer/scanner, a over-sized monochome printer/copier and a fax machine too all taking up space. I got tired of all the ink for the printer, and the slow start-up of the copier. To clear the clutter and upgrade my print quality I needed a change. Did my homework, and found the WorkCenter 6505dn. Love its small footprint, and great features. And Adobe postscipt is an added bonus. The ease of use has been great, the short start-up time is certainly welcomed too. And I am enjoying the additional space I picked up in the office by booting the old products out. I am quite happy.
I would recommend this to others.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Useful, Reliable, High Quality MFP

PostedMay 9, 2013
Andy
From: Fairfax, VA, USA
Company Size:10-99
Product Use:Professional Documents
Role:Office
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It does everything I need very well. It is near my desk, so I appreciate the sleep/energy saving mode when it is silent. I just wish it did duplex scanning.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Average Printer - Lousy Design

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Dave
From: Saskatchewan, Canada
Company Size:100-1000
Product Use:Everyday Documents
Role:IT/Technical
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Speed 
3 / 5
3 / 5
We purchased this device to replace a Xerox M20i that was starting to give frequent issues with print quality. During initial setup I found it much more difficult to get the extra features setup than most other 5 Xerox devices we have on-site. Now with the unit 3 months off warranty we have been occasionally getting a Laser Error. I did some searching on the internet and found that this is not uncommon with these units (as well as their siblings the 6500 printer only model). I have to admit that with the much higher cost per page than the M20i using only black and white output, once this machine is dead we will not be replacing it with another WorkCentre and very likely not a Xerox either. As a whole we have not been overly impressed with the reliability of any of our Xerox machines from our WorkCenter 5655's down to our littler units like the WorkCentre 6505.
No, I would not recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Sory I bought it

PostedDecember 30, 2012
jackrabbit
From: Texas
Print Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Speed 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I bought this unit on the recommendation of the people at Xerox direct. I was looking for a color laser printer that would do duplex, had good color and very user friendly in doing normal printing tasks. I really did not need a copier, fax or scanner as I had these as separate machines. First, the green status lights as described on page 20 of the owners manual and identified as item 14 have never worked. While both the owners and service manual describe their function a telephone Xerox Tech stated that they were never intended to work. STRANGE. Secondly the procedure stated on page 79 for printing envelopes causes error messages and is not the same as the procedure shown me by the on sight tech. Lastly, while I specifically asked prior to purchase about Mac OS compatibility, Xerox has chosen not to produce drivers for Mountain lion the current Mac OS which was already in beta for public development when I purchased the machine . Bottom line the unit does not do what it was presented as being able to do and the errors in the manual are unacceptable from a company as professional and with such a good reputation as Xerox. I'm now in the market for a replacement that will service the same needs as I expressed when I was directed to the 6505. I will say that the black and white printing is above average but the color printing of graphics is margional.
No, I would not recommend this to others.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>