Xerox Ratings and Reviews
Browse Products at Xerox
Browse Color Multifunction Printers or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Xerox WorkCentre 6505

Xerox WorkCentre 6505

Print, copy, scan, fax. First-page-out time as fast as 12 seconds color, 12 seconds black-and-white. Best for fast-paced workteams who need powerful multifunction capabilities plus outstanding print quality, simplicity and dependability. True Adobe® PostScript® 3™
Average Customer Rating:
3.905 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 42 reviews
5 stars
20
4 stars
8
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
3
29 out of 40(72%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for WorkCentre 6505
Review 1 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Just Another Disposable Printer - Life Span Approximately 1000 sheets

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Jim
From: Raleigh, NC
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PRO: Seemingly durable mechanisms, installation set up relatively easy, fast wake up, fast print, wonderful print quality. Printed roughly 1000 sheets in color mode and still have all three original color cartridges, just recently changed out the original black cartridge. Seemed to use toner conservatively. Overall initial impression of this unit leads the user to believe that this is a quality machine knocking out quality prints and copies! ……………. but then the party is over and reality sets in……………..
CON: Noisy when in operation, heavy bulky unit. Defective circuitry, “Controller Error code 116-317” appeared on our unit after two years of service and roughly 1000 sheets of paper printed. For those who have yet to experience this error code, it is Xerox’s version of the blue screen of death. This error is caused by defective circuitry on one of two circuit boards thus transforming your WorkCentre 6505 into a 100+ pound paperweight.
COMMENTS: If you are a small business owner, you had better purchase the service contract. Xerox will frequently steer you towards a contract that is just right for you and your budget. This will be an essential expenditure necessary to repair the Xerox defect(s) you will encounter.
If you are not a small business owner and simply plan to use it in your home for the family and do not want to pay the annual fees for the service contract because you anticipate minimal use and think you have a mechanically durable piece of equipment built by a historically reputable corporation, consider:
1) Once the warranty has expired and you have not purchased a service contract, you are on your own. PERIOD! Xerox has no concern for the integrity of their brand. Xerox defects are your problem. Need to repair the defective Xerox circuitry, no problem…………as the Xerox website proudly proclaims…………..”have your credit card ready when calling.”
2) When you realize that Xerox has marketed you a disposable Workcentre 6505 and you are unwilling to pay to repair the Xerox defect(s), you will at this point need to enlist the assistance of a neighbor to help you transport and then lift this rather heavy disposable Xerox printer up into the electronic recycle dumpster at the county landfill. The final prideful moment you share with your seemly durable yet proven disposable Xerox Workcentre 6505 starts at the point you and your neighbor hoist it over the edge of the dumpster. At that point gravity takes over hurling it ever so briskly into the pile of small inferior lightweight disposable plastic printers and miscellaneous electronics congregated at the bottom of the dumpster. Like a wrecking ball crashing through an abandoned building, this disposable Xerox WorkCertre 6505 destroys all in its path as it plunges towards the bottom of the dumpster sending plumes of plastic and glass fragments in all directions.
Bottom line, today’s Xerox is not your parent’s Xerox. What a big disappointment.
If you do purchase this unit we hope your experience is better than ours! Good luck and buyer beware!
No, I would not recommend this to others.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Diab
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Thank you!
Posted August 27, 2014
We had this printer in our office for exactly 1 year before we got the "blue death" .. We reported the problem on the last day of the warranty (seriously).
The feedback: Main Logic board "needs to be replaced for further testing" Cost: USD 350 !!!!!!
We called and emailed many people trying to convince them that this was our first try with Xerox and it would make a big difference in our impression abuot Xerox .. we did not even receive an apology. Basically we have to pay or get rid of it.
I decided to pay, but then I read your review and changed my mind and decided to accept the pain of regret going for his printer in the first place... I must say it was also fun to read the last part.
Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Multipurpose machine

PostedApril 28, 2014
Anonymous
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We use this in a mixed mac and windows environment. Works well with both platforms. Toner cartridges are priced well and you don't need a lot of storage space for them
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

DOES NOT WORK ON WINDOWS 8.1

PostedMarch 18, 2014
CD
From: New York
Print Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Speed 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Bought this printer directly from the Xerox store. When purchasing, I was concerned about its use on Tablets, Windows 8 and the fax function. I asked the sales person about these three specific things and was satisfied with the answers given, especially when I spent approx. 30-50 minutes on the phone. I was told that in the matter of windows 8, all I had to do was download the driver from Xerox's website and to ignore the disc that came with the machine, you see I was in some ways comparing the WorkCentre 6605 and 6505, but wasn't too thrilled about the feedback on the WorkCentre 6605, so I decided to go with 6505, as long as it could work in that environment.
After given all assurances, I bought the 6505. After 3 days I noticed that I couldn't find the driver for the printer anywhere, and the disc, of course, wasn't working on windows 8. Called support only to be told that they hadn't made any drivers for Windows 8.1 environment and I would have to call Microsoft to ask their technical support department to build me one, or ask them (Microsoft# to come with some solution, because they #Xerox) could not help, since they didn't know when one would be available, called the sales department to complain, only to be told by the sales rep that "he had no idea that windows 8.1 existed". I kid you not, I have 30 days to return the printer, but I'm allowing for 2 weeks to see if Xerox can come up with a fix. The one thing that hurts me the most is the fact that I did my due diligence in choosing this machine and all I hoped for was good customer service on the back end. Just wanted a printer that I wouldn't have to be bothered with for a minute. Yet here I am again.
No, I would not recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
joe-bob rufus magilicuddy
vladivostok, russia
no drivers needed
Posted April 11, 2014
It's a PostScript printer, turkey. Use the color postscript driver and just copy over the ppd file to get any printer-specific features.
That's one major reason to *buy* a postscript printer - they don't need one-off weirdo winprinter drivers. They work anywhere.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Black toner cartridges do not last nearly as long as they are supposed to

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Susan CPA
From: Pennsylvania
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am a CPA and print a relatively high number of pages daily. This printer is costing a fortune in black toner cartridges. I have printed 5,477 pages so far and it has already gone through the initial black cartridge that came with the machine, 2 High Capacity new ones @ $110 each, and is halfway through a fourth. My HP did not eat up toner cartridges like this.
Also, if you have to call customer service, beware the Serial # is hidden far inside the machine and involves having to try to remove other parts to get to it. Very bad design.
No, I would not recommend this to others.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just keeps on printing with no problems

PostedJuly 7, 2013
Anonymous
From: NY
Company Size:1-9
Product Use:Everyday Documents
Role:Office
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The quality of the prints are great. It never needs calibrating. Text prints out sharp. It doesn't jam. It's quiet. I scan to file and email. It does everything well! Xerox support is excellent. The toner is expensive but it's worth it.
I would recommend this to others.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

This product is speedy

PostedMay 17, 2013
Anonymous
From: Cornerstone Christian Academy
Company Size:10-99
Product Use:Everyday Documents
Role:Office
Print Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This copier prints at a great speed.
I would recommend this to others.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Scanning not so easy

PostedMay 11, 2013
Anonymous
Company Size:1-9
Product Use:Everyday Documents
Role:Office
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Scanning has been difficult for our network (on a mac). Otherwise the printer is great!
I would recommend this to others.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Long Lasting

PostedMay 10, 2013
Terry
From: San Antonio, TX, USA
Company Size:1-9
Product Use:Everyday Documents
Role:Office
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This product does run into minor issues but over all this product with warranty is great.
I would recommend this to others.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I have already recomment this product

PostedMay 10, 2013
nickey
From: Alcorn, MS 39096, USA
Company Size:1000+
Product Use:Everyday Documents
Role:Office
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love my printer the only thing is the price for the ink is so high
I would recommend this to others.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I love my Xerox WorkCenter

PostedMay 10, 2013
Wolfnana
From: Rockwall, tX
Company Size:1-9
Product Use:Everyday Documents
Role:Other
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I enjoy using my Xerox WorkCenter every day at work. My favorite feature is how easy it is to scan my documents...very good feature.
I would recommend this to others.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Machine

PostedMay 10, 2013
Anonymous
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent quality and easy to use.
I would recommend this to others.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Compact with good features

PostedMay 10, 2013
Anonymous
From: Reading, PA
Product Use:Everyday Documents
Role:Creative Services
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Previously had a standard copier, but having the print from computer, scanning and faxing features has been great.
I would recommend this to others.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

jams

PostedMay 10, 2013
Anonymous
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Speed 
3 / 5
3 / 5
We have had issues with jamming every couple of months for the life of the printer.
No, I would not recommend this to others.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A wonderful office tool

PostedMay 10, 2013
Anonymous
Company Size:100-1000
Product Use:Everyday Documents
Role:Office
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I do not regret choosing this particular WorkCentre for our office. If I were rating in "stars" I'd surely give a 4.5 overall. The one "negative" is that there isn't a clear instruction booklet to review & use. I've figured out how to do many of the tasks, not all, but for efficiency and productivity it would have been preferred to have a reference manual with clear directions for the varied ways in which I'll use this all-in-one machine.
For instance, I have STILL not learned how to "copy to email" although I am certain there IS a way to do it.
I am somewhat disappointed that "manual feed" is required for materials OTHER than plain paper - but have been equally pleased by what I CAN accomplish!
I would recommend this to others.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

fits all our needs perfectly

PostedMay 9, 2013
chiller563
From: Highland Lakes, NJ
Company Size:1-9
Product Use:Everyday Documents
Role:Office
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
As a small business, and with two kids in college, I wanted to find something better than the standard in store HP products. Boy did this printer fit the bill. Blows away anything I've owned to date. Customer service was excellent as well. When first installing we had some trouble with networking and customer service was quick and easy to get on the phone with someone that spoke english clearly and easily understood and diagnosed the problem. I will definitely always own a Xerox! Supplies could be cheaper, but I guess that's true with all manufacturers.
I would recommend this to others.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic for the price

PostedMay 9, 2013
Rick4450
From: Clearwater, FL
Company Size:1-9
Product Use:Everyday Documents
Role:IT/Technical
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Much better than expected. Actually much better than some of the more expensive Phaser models I have had.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent printer

PostedMay 9, 2013
Anonymous
From: Washington state
Company Size:1-9
Product Use:Everyday Documents
Role:Sales
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Speed 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I replaced 2 other printers with this machine. An older black and white laser and a color inkjet.
The print quality is great, the speed is good, and the other features are good. I wished it copied to email, but I can scan and attach the file without to much trouble.
Overall I am very pleased with this printer and would buy it again.
I would recommend this to others.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The finest unit I have ever had.

PostedMay 9, 2013
Pete
From: Torrington, WY 82240, USA
Company Size:100-1000
Product Use:Everyday Documents
Role:Office
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Was delivered the next day after the order was place. (fast) The setup took about 45 minutes and everything was up and running at 110%. Instructions were clear and easy to follow. The copy, print, fax and scan produces above average, and quick. Bottom line IT IS A XEREX. We are a customer the next time around
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great color Multi-function

PostedMay 9, 2013
Tailor Tom
From: Minneapolis, MN, USA
Company Size:1-9
Product Use:Everyday Documents
Role:Office
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I previously had a color ink-jet printer/scanner, a over-sized monochome printer/copier and a fax machine too all taking up space. I got tired of all the ink for the printer, and the slow start-up of the copier. To clear the clutter and upgrade my print quality I needed a change. Did my homework, and found the WorkCenter 6505dn. Love its small footprint, and great features. And Adobe postscipt is an added bonus. The ease of use has been great, the short start-up time is certainly welcomed too. And I am enjoying the additional space I picked up in the office by booting the old products out. I am quite happy.
I would recommend this to others.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Useful, Reliable, High Quality MFP

PostedMay 9, 2013
Andy
From: Fairfax, VA, USA
Company Size:10-99
Product Use:Professional Documents
Role:Office
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It does everything I need very well. It is near my desk, so I appreciate the sleep/energy saving mode when it is silent. I just wish it did duplex scanning.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>