Xerox Ratings and Reviews
Browse Products at Xerox
Browse Color Multifunction Printers or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products

Customer Reviews for Xerox WorkCentre 6505

Xerox WorkCentre 6505

Color MFP with support for Letter-Legal/A4. Copy, print, scan, fax, email. Best for workteams of 2 to 7 users. – Productivity for more people in a intuitive color device. – Save on energy and supplies by combining multiple devices. Recommended Monthly Print Volume: Up to 2,500 pages per month
Average Customer Rating:
3.875 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(88 Reviews) 88
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 88 reviews
5 stars
37
4 stars
23
3 stars
15
2 stars
6
1 star
7
62 out of 84(74%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for WorkCentre 6505
Review 1 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love love love Xerox products!

PostedFebruary 4, 2015
From: Williamsport, PA
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My experience with Xerox goes back probably 20 years to a flatbed with sheet feeder copier. I currently have a workcenter 6505n, purchased March of 2012. I always buy product insurance and I almost have never needed to use it but when I do service is fast and efficient. Customer support has always been outstanding, yes outstanding. No long on hold waiting, no overseas support representatives; just issue identification and results. I will always purchase Xerox for my home accounting office and will always recommend their products, with insurance; which is very cost effective. Thank you for an excellent product and service. Bravo, you earned it!
I would recommend this to others.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Enjoying my 6505

PostedOctober 23, 2014
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After using another multifunction printer I was ready for an upgrade. I reviewed the available products and called to talk to a Zerox sales rep for further information. I decided on the 6505 for its size, reliability ratings, quality of color printing and speed. I did have to call to get all the features working correctly after I upgraded my computer but it was easy and help was there when I needed it. Customer service is great, the product is great and I enjoy having a reliable tool at my convenience. Thanks Zerox.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product does it all!

PostedJuly 20, 2016
From: Jacksonville, Florida
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We both work out of our home office much of the time so a high quality, multi function printer/copier/scanner is essential to our productivity. We had gotten years and years of use from our prior Xerox products - a high speed black and white printer/copier and separate color printer. The Xerox WorkCentre 6505 allowed us to upgrade and combine our needs into one great machine. It was also easy to install and certainly is a space saver to have one product do everything that we got from our previous two workhorses. They served us well for a long time but we are thrilled with this newer Xerox product.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Printer

PostedJuly 18, 2016
From: Malabar FL
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a good printer. I bought the wireless print adaptor and had some trouble setting that up. I have not been able to print from any PC's because the software will not install. I am having to email documents to my self and then print from my phone.
Customer service is great.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

High Speed, High Quality, and High Usability

PostedJune 22, 2016
From: Raleigh, NC
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just started a new job and it is "work from home in my home office." My new boss said he ordered a new printer/scanner/fax/copier for me -- and when this machine arrived I was amazed. It is more than I could have asked for. It prints at high speed (up to 24 ppm), high quality (pages look professional), and high usability (so many features!). The only reason I give it 4 stars (and not 5) for "Ease of Use" is that there are so many features that (as a new machine to me) I need to reference the Quick Use Guide periodically; but I am sure it will become easier to use as the days progress. I recommend this printer to work-from-home professionals and other like-minded folks without a single reservation.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does not consistently function.

PostedJune 13, 2016
Print Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Speed 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I've had this machine in my office for 4+ months now and I'm pretty disappointed in its performance. I only use it for scanning and printing, so I can't comment on the fax feature, but I would not recommend this machine for somebody that plans on using the scanner. I have the machine hardwired to my computer with a USB cable, and yet I still run into problems with the scanner timing out (like it cannot communicate with the computer#, and when it does scan, about 50% of the time I find pages within the scanned document where it only scanned half of the page. I don't have too many problems with the printing, but there's nothing special about the quality of printing either #and certainly nothing special enough to outweigh the problems I've experienced with the scanning). My general review of this product would be it works when it wants to work, not reliable at all. Overall, I am very disappointed with this WorkCentre, which was a big letdown considering how great our previous Xerox multifunction printer/scanner was.
No, I would not recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Hit and Miss

PostedApril 29, 2016
From: Carrollton, TX
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We purchased a Xerox 6605 Work Center the first of the year. It connects to 5 offices but it has been hit and miss if you can get it to print or scan. We have trouble almost everyday and it's frustrating. We have had two different IT guys out off and on and it will work for a few days, then it goes on the blink again. Whats up with it?
No, I would not recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Virtual Reator Asset - Great for Home Office

PostedApril 5, 2016
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Prints single and double sided copies fast. Scan speed not as fast as I had hoped for the quality that I need.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

WorkCentre 6505

PostedApril 5, 2016
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a compact printer and copier that is perfect for a smaller office. The copies are clean and clear. Love the color printing and scanning options. The duplex printing is a little complicated and changing the paper from letter to legal isn't as smooth as I would like. But I think that it would be easier with more practice. The wake up time and print times are really fast. Overall it is a good machine and I would recommend it highly.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Do-it-all Workhorse

PostedApril 5, 2016
From: Kansas City
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If you have a small to medium size workgroup, this MFP will provide great print quality, speed and versatility. Ours is still fairly new, so I can't vouch for its long-term reliability yet, but as it's a Xerox product I have high hopes that it will be very reliable.
This color laser printer does it all: scan, fax, copy, duplex, you name it. My only regret is it's not a ColorQube, which means you replace toner cartridges just like every other brand (See my rhapsodic review of the ColorQube 8870). But that's hardly a knock, just makes it more in line with the rest of the world.
Very happy with this printer and expect it to have a good long life in our small workgroup.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ease to operate

PostedApril 4, 2016
From: Jeffersonville, Indiana
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my companies second xerox 6505 copier. We like all of the features/ease of scanning documents to our computer. Over all the best copier we have owned.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product exceeded my expectations for the price

PostedMarch 29, 2016
From: Naperville, IL
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I would truly recommend the Xerox 6505dn Color Printer for anyone that wants a low cost with many features Printer. We haven't had any issues since installing it. The Toner lasts a long time and we get good quality Print.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for printing and copying

PostedJanuary 28, 2016
From: Smyrna, TN
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Speed 
3 / 5
3 / 5
My observation of the WorkCentre 6505 is incomplete. The printer works well but our organization has had issues with the printer working when we changed to Windows 10. At times the printer would not work and we had to delete the printer and add the printer back. The copy functions works well; we do not use the fax feature but we have plan to do so. The scanner feature has been our biggest issue. We have not been able to scan to an individual or group email. This is very important to our small organization.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ease of operation

PostedJanuary 28, 2016
From: Indian Springs Nevada
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product has proven to be simple to use, and very reliable. I have multiple users daily and highly recommend this machine.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

this product has poor features

PostedJanuary 14, 2016
From: laval,quebec,canada
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am not able to email document directly from the machin (as been told by Xerox before the purchase) because of I am using BELL ,but the problem was solved by scanning to a file in my computer than proceeding to email,so longer procedure.
I would recommend this to others.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice Machine if everything is working as it should.

PostedNovember 19, 2015
From: Richmond, VA, USA
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This machine is advertised for small businesses. It was purchased for home use...for a family of 5. 2 adults in a business professional setting with some continuing college education in progress and 3 children in school or college. Other well known brands have not stood the test of time. This was our first personal experience with Xerox. We figured if we go with something a little more tailored to a business setting, then the craftsmanship may be worth the money as applied to the products useful life. We were also interested in getting away from inkjet devices as the cost of cartridges is getting out of hand. This machine is nice...it is large, has that office/professional feel. The initial start-up led to the discovery of some defective components. This was frustrating-considering the cost. I will say that once I made my way through the phone tree, I was connected to a nice/professional lady that understood my problem. She overnighted the replacement parts-free of charge.
For us, we feel the print quality is great...our projects and school work look professional. We are still on the original toner...this unit has exceeded the capabilities of the prior inkjet unit.
The scanner works fine. It is a network capable printer but it does not have wifi capability. We overcame this with a wifi repeater that has 4 connections for non-wifi devices. The machine receives jobs from multiple desktop computers, laptops, and mac machines with no issues.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not Good So Far

PostedNovember 18, 2015
From: Annapolis, MD, USA
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Speed 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Our WorkCentre 6505 arrived with a broken sensor that prevented it from starting or working. It took Xerox customer service over 3 weeks to get it repaired.
Once we got it on we found out that the WorkCentre 6505 has very limited e-mail configuration options (it doesn't support SSL and won't work with many e-mail services).
No, I would not recommend this to others.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Cheezemo
Posted February 22, 2016
Yes it does work with SSL, I use it with Gmail with no issues.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very Versitile Product

PostedNovember 18, 2015
From: Liberty, TX, USA
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This product is a easy to use and has many features.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Printer

PostedNovember 17, 2015
From: Miami, FL, USA
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This printer is easy to use and to install. The quality printing is excellent and the speed is pretty good. I recommend it for a small to medium office environment.
I would recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for WorkCentre 6505
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It's both great and terrible

PostedOctober 31, 2015
From: Edmonton, AB, Canada
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The print quality is great. Prints beautifully on any kind of paper including envelopes and it's fast.
However, I'm putting this puppy up for sale because it gives me more grief than it's worth. When you open the paper tray (to reload it or whatever) and then close it, you have to tell the printer what kind of paper you just put in. Sometimes this works, sometimes it doesn't. Sometimes it thinks there's a paper jam even though there isn't one. Sometimes it just won't print, and sometimes it won't stop printing.
Problems happen with all printers, I get that, but the most frustrating thing about this printer is trying to fix these problems. It's a combination of a poorly designed menu, poorly designed error messages, non-existent hints (like: "press button blah to continue" for example) and a bunch of poorly labelled buttons (cryptic icons instead of words).
Half the time, when you see a notification on the screen, the OK button does nothing, no matter how hard and how often you press it. Even yelling "OK I GET IT!!!" at the top of your lungs doesn't seem to solve the problem. There's also a red button which I think is Cancel, and a button that lights up which seems to be the "wake up" button, but again I'm not sure (and no, I don't know why a printer needs a wake up button). There's also a bright yellow button which is labelled CA and that might mean something to somebody somewhere but it means nothing to me. And a big green button which seems to be the copy button because anytime you press it it starts making a copy of the glass.
I wish I had a better example of a recent problem but I don't remember exactly what happened, just that I've had more frustration with this printer than any other printer I've ever owned.
No, I would not recommend this to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>